A crowd pleasing breakfast

July 17, 2017

bkfst pizza 0715

What was left of the breakfast pizza after four women and two kids filled up.

Got a throng in the house for breakfast? Fed people breakfast strata until you’re sick of breakfast strata? Tired of cycling batter through the waffle iron?

I give you the breakfast pizza.

This thing is just about guaranteed to please picky eaters, as long as they like sausage, eggs and cheese. (Who doesn’t? Few people I know.)

I had all three children, A, B and C (the Alphabet Sisters, as a good friend calls them) and AGC’s 1 and 3 in the house last Saturday. (AGC, who was adrenalined out and tanked on a cupcake and juice following his birthday party, had gone home with his daddy Friday night.) I needed something fast and easy that could also adapt to Child B’s celiac disease/gluten allergy.

I had crescent rolls. I had sausage. I had eggs. I had cheese (if there is ever a time when I do not have cheese, the world will have ended; just sayin’). I didn’t have frozen hash browns, but I had potatoes. I could make this work.

So: Here’s what you need, and how you do it.

  • 1 can of crescent rolls
  • 2 cups frozen hash browns (I nuked three Yukon golds, let them cool, peeled and grated them. Tried grating them hot. Doesn’t work well. Trust me.)
  • 1 pound sausage
  • 1 1/2 cup grated cheese of your choice (I used cheddar because it was there)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk

Brown your sausage, set it aside to drain on paper towels. Open and unroll your crescent rolls, and spread them out in a 9 x 13 baking pan or small cookie sheet. Pinch the seams together, and stretch them to cover the bottom.

Start layering.

Sprinkle the potatoes over the rolls, coming to within 1/2 inch or so of the edge. Top with the sausage. Sprinkle with the cheese. Beat together the eggs and milk, and gently drizzle/pour over the whole thing.

Bake at 350F for about 15-18 minutes, until the edges of the crust are puffed and brown. Let cool a few minutes, cut into squares, and serve.

For the Child B version, I buttered a ramekin, layered the same things in the same order,  and baked it alongside. Perfect.

This stuff, y’all, is just GOOD. Very nearly Sweet Baby Jesus good. It tastes like the best of all its ingredients (the fact I had farm fresh eggs and country sausage may have had something to do with that), and on top of that (actually UNDER all that), the buttery goodness of the crescent rolls. With some fresh fruit alongside, it would have been perfection itself (I followed mine with a fresh peach). It would make a nice centerpiece for a brunch, with fruit and muffins and such alongside, and frou-frou drinks (with alcohol).

Recipe comes courtesy of my friend Donna from church, who made this one day to bring to the soup kitchen to feed our team while we were working. We snarfed it. There wasn’t much left of this one, either, but what was left warmed up nicely in the toaster oven the next day.

I highly recommend you ‘n y’mama ‘n’ em give this a whirl the next time you need to feed breakfast to a throng.

 

Leave a Reply

