Freezing fruit, part II

July 9, 2017

Watermelon puree — ice cream on the hoof!

…wherein we try our hand at freezing watermelon. Fairly successfully.

I bought a watermelon over Fourth of July weekend, and it’s been sitting in my kitchen floor ever since. I got tired of walking around it. And AGC2 got up this morning and demanded watermelon for breakfast, so I decided to cut it.

It was a sizeable watermelon. Once I cut it, there existed the question of what to do with the nine-tenths of it he and I did NOT eat for breakfast.

In an unrelated train of food-related thought, I had been wanting to try my little Cuisinart ice cream maker ever since I got the new freezer, which gives me room to keep the ice cream freezer bowl, well, frozen.

Those two trains of thought collided head-on earlier this week.

I could, I said to myself, puree however much of that watermelon we didn’t want to eat, and I could see how it worked frozen. And self said, “Yeah, we ought to be able to do that.” And the watermelon continued to sit in the kitchen floor. Until AGC2 spurred me to cut it this morning.

Frozen yum, right here. So simple, so good.

While I had the helluva mess that a watermelon creates in your kitchen, I decided I might as well go the whole route and get it prepared to stash. Three blender pitchers later, I put six cups of puree in the freezer, and a quart in the fridge. And I have since used three cups of that quart in my maiden attempt at watermelon ice cream, which was pretty dang good, if I do say so myownself.

I am now anxious to make chocolate cherry ice cream. I have a bar of dark chocolate, and the remainder of a bag of sweet cherries. All I need to do is finish off the pint of watermelon ice cream that was left after Child C and I dug into it.

This new adventure may wind up causing me to gain weight.

The watermelon ice cream started out to be watermelon sorbet, but I decided at the last minute I wanted some cream to it. So I added a cup of heavy cream. The recipe is still just five ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 cups watermelon puree
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Make simple syrup by heating the sugar and water, and add the lemon juice when sugar is all dissolved. Chill.

Combine syrup, watermelon puree and cream in ice cream freezer. Freeze.

This took me less than 45 minutes from the time I decided I wanted ice cream, with the longest segment of that time involving

Doesn’t get much simpler than this. Could’ve been a bit less sweet. I’ll try cutting the sugar a bit next time, unless I use a tarter fruit. But I think my next up will be one with a cooked custard, likely the chocolate cherry one. It’ll just have to wait until I finish off the pint or so left of watermelon.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em get in the ice cream urge, come on by.

 

Leave a Reply

