Sunday salad lunch

June 12, 2017

Clockwise from upper left, peaches and cottage cheese, broccoli cauliflower, cucumber, jail slaw.

I came home from church yesterday absolutely ravenous, with no plans as to what to eat, or cook, for either lunch or dinner. Contemplated stopping by somewhere to pick up something, and decided that was ridiculous, given I had two refrigerators, a pantry and a countertop overflowing with food either already prepared or waiting to be prepared.

So I came home and fixed myself a salad luncheon, which had the added plus of emptying the refrigerator of some odds and ends of different dishes.

Clockwise from top left, we have peaches over cottage cheese (finished off the peaches); broccoli and cauliflower salad I’d been jonesing for for a week, and finally made Sunday morning before church; the last of the other day’s cucumber salad, and a serving of jail slaw to round things out. It made a fine lunch.

The broccoli-cauliflower salad is a simple, but good, thing. At its simplest, it is a head of cauliflower and a couple of sizeable broccoli crowns, just the florets off both cut into bite-sized pieces, with a healthy portion of chopped up bacon (I’d say I used close to a pound). The dressing is a cup or so of mayo, a tablespoon of vinegar, a tablespoon of sugar, and salt and pepper. That’s the bare minimum of dressing, too; it’s really better with a bit more.

Stir up the dressing, toss it over the veggies, mix it up well, stash it in the fridge. Boom. Done. Keeps for a week or so. I have had it with various additions — chopped onion, raisins, sunflower seeds, pecan pieces — but I think I like the simple version best.

That gives me a little bit of a head start on cleaning out the fridge, something I hope to get done today, in between a work thing in the morning and taking Lucy to the vet for her post-surgery checkup in the afternoon. Then I need to start making a concerted effort to use up some of the produce I’ve been stocking up, before it goes bad on me.

F’rinstance, I have two pounds of nice, skinny asparagus spears I got at the grocery on sale, with a plan to pickle them. Doesn’t take much to get them done; I just need to get in the kitchen and do it. Ditto a couple of baskets of mushrooms. Some pickles hanging out in the fridge are always welcome. Tonight, I think I’m going to sacrifice some of my tomatoes to the Deep Run Roots stewed tomatoes recipe, purely and simply for the purpose of using them as a base for baked eggs for dinner; those will go with some potato cakes made from the weekend’s leftover mashed potatoes, and some sauteed squash and onions. I might be bestirred to cook some country ham to go with that; I might not. I might be bestirred to cook some cornbread; I might not. I ought to go ahead and cook up the green beans and new potatoes to go with it; I might not do that, either.

Later on in the week…I’ve had butter chicken on my mind that theoretically should allow me to use the new double-decker pan I got to go in the Instant Pot, and make the rice and chicken at the same time, in the same vessel. Also theoretically, I should be able to cook the dal (lentils) with it in the base of the pot, topping them off with the stacked pans of chicken and rice that should cook in the steam.

We shall see.

My friend Kate will be here Wednesday, and I’m thinking we’ll grill some of those big ol’ shrimp I brought home t’other day and stuck in the freezer. They’ll go nicely with some grilled pineapple, some corn, and, well, something else yet to be determined.

That’s about as far out as I can even think about planning; besides, I’ll be gone Thursday night, and getting back relatively late on Friday, then leaving again Saturday for four days in Hot Springs. I expect to eat well while I’m there.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy your spring and summer veggies and fresh stuff, y’hear?

 

Leave a Reply

