Cooking odds and ends

June 2, 2017

mango chutney

Mango chutney. Which I’m going to try out, one of these days.

It was something of a food-centric day. Albeit I don’t have any pictures of any of it yet, so here’s a picture of something I made a while back and never posted about because I haven’t had occasion to use it yet.

That is mango chutney. From the box of mangoes I bought at Sam’s t’other day, when I was craving mangoes. Mangoes don’t last long, and I didn’t want to lose them, so — chutney. When I made it, I was planning on cooking Indian one night soon, and I haven’t done that yet, so I’m saving the chutney until I do. We will report on that, then.

Today, though, I did bestir myself to make granola, as I have been out for weeks; to make pimiento cheese, because I felt like it, and watermelon tomato gazpacho, because I had watermelon and tomatoes that needed using and that just sounded good. And I went shopping, and went by a couple of meat markets I don’t normally frequent, and bought some breakfast sausage and some interesting smoked meats.

I stopped by a place called “Feisty’s Smoked Meats,” in the next town up the road, because I’d heard they had some interesting things. Picked up a beef bologna summer sausage; a “sweet and sassy” summer sausage; and four different kinds of brats with different flavors to them. Stuck them all in the freezer against the day I take a notion I want to cook brats. I still have 10 heads of cabbage in the fridge I need to make into kraut, after all; that’s got to go on the list for early next week. But all those set me back a total of a little more than $25. Can’t argue with her prices.

As for the breakfast sausage, I’ve been jonesing for some good sausage and biscuits. I’ll make a batch of biscuits here in the not real distant future, fry up a pound’s worth of sausage patties, and make and freeze some sausage biscuits. Instant breakfast. I also bought some straight-side four-ounce jars to make some egg bites with the sous vide circulator; those ought to go right nicely with a sausage and biscuit.

This gazpacho. This stuff is pretty good. I took some to a friend, and she didn’t like it, so I took it back; I think I’m going to have it with a pimiento cheese sandwich for dinner. It’s Tyler Florence’s recipe, roughly — tomato, watermelon, some cider vinegar, some salt, some red pepper, some olive oil, some cucumber, all pureed up together. I can see where some wouldn’t like it. I do.

The granola is my standard granola. Which is to say, good. I bought cherries t’other day at the grocery, so I shall have it with cherries and yogurt in the morning when I get home from the market. To which I have no business going, because I’ve cooked very little of the haul from last week. But we will need some cinnamon rolls and suchlike, plus, well, more tomatoes. And who knows what fruit may be out there? We shall see, indeed we shall. And then it’s my week to work at the soup kitchen, so that’ll be next up. Meat loaf for a herd.

Perhaps tomorrow will be the night I cook the Indian meal. Perhaps not. We shall see on that, too. Tomorrow also offers the opportunity for the tomato pie I’ve been going to make all week, but for the fact I can’t remember to get pie crusts.

And my Lucy-dog is home from an overnight at the vet, a bit the worse for the wear and the surgery, but promising to be back firing on all cylinders within a week.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy your weekend. I surely plan to enjoy mine.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

