Recycling R Us

April 19, 2017

Deviled eggs in the process of being recycled.

What does one do when one has five left-over deviled egg halves from Easter?

One pops one in one’s mouth as a cook’s treat, and one proceeds to smush up the other four, add a few more ingredients, and have tuna salad.

I was thinking, for some reason, of tuna salad. It just sounded good, and I thought, well, I’ll just boil a couple of eggs and make some.

Ding-ding-ding-ding-ding! I HAD boiled eggs, albeit they’d already been deviled, using essentially the same ingredients I’d be using in tuna salad, anyway. (The eggs had a bit of Dijon mustard and a splash of cider vinegar that wouldn’t normally go in tuna salad, but what the heck.)

So I took a fork to the eggs, smushing them up and chopping the whites into tiny bits. I added two cans of drained tuna, some more sweet pickle relish, some more mayo, et voila! — tuna salad!

Tuna salad! It’s sandwich time.

Note to tuna salad aficionados out there: I do not put celery and onion in my tuna salad because I don’t like either one (cooked onion is fine; raw onion I don’t do, much). Your mileage may vary. That’s fine. I like mine the way I like it. Carry on.

Of course, the making of tuna salad necessitated the making of bread on which to spread it, so I made up a recipe of King Arthur Flour Potato Bread (recipe here). I’ve been making sandwiches and toast for what seems like a month with a buttermilk whole wheat loaf I had sliced and frozen. It’s good, but I’ve been jonesing for some plain old white bread. I like potato bread for sandwich bread, because potato bread tends to retain its elasticity and moisture over a longer period of time.

This bread is kneaded for a good while in the stand mixer, so it’s developed a really good gluten structure and will make a sturdy slice, which will hold up for a sandwich. It’ll make good toast, too. It’s on its second rise in its loaf pans as I type, and I’m hoping I’ll have fresh bread I can cut into for a sandwich for a late lunch. We’ve even got a choice — tuna salad, or leftover ham from Easter with a variety of cheeses.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come on by and fix you a sandwich, then you can help me plant the rest of the garden and hoe it out if it dries up enough this afternoon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

