Celebrating Easter, and spring

April 16, 2017

Easter dinner. All the faves. It was good. Seconds were had.

Another wonderful Easter in the books, or almost so, as it’s nearly sundown.

We’ve gorged ourselves on a traditional Easter repast of ham, mac and cheese (because I have carb-loading children, and they require mac and cheese), corn casserole, asparagus, green peas, deviled eggs, rolls, lemon icebox pie, and strawberries.

We’ve hunted eggs at church, with the cutest kids on the face of the planet, led, of course, by my very own, because, well, he’s about the cutest kid on the planet, except for my other two grandkids, with whom he’s tied. Sorry. I calls ’em like I sees ’em. YMMV.

Every girl’s crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man.

I mean, seriously. Are there any cuter kids? I submit there are not.

And the other two, who are right cure, in and of themselves!

Lemon icebox pie. Strawberries. Creme fraiche. Yes, please.

In any event, there is most assuredly not any better Easter dinner, unless, well, it were to be on the beach and incluce copious quantities of lobster and crab legs. But for flyover country, this is about as good as it gets.

We have your basic Easter ham. In fact, we have Honeybaked Ham, which I have gritted my teeth and paid the premium price for the past two years for Easter and Christmas because, well, it’s worth it. Those folks make some GOOD ham. I very nearly had a ham catastrophe, as I got up this morning, put it in the oven to cook (it’s fully cooked, they say, but they lie, so I always cook it like it wasn’t), and forgot to turn the oven off before I left for church. Fortunately, I realized my mistake, skipped out on a good portion of the egg hunt, and dashed back home to handle that small issue. It’s good to go to church five minutes from home. The ham did not suffer from 45 minutes of extra low-temp baking.

We had asparagus. Fresh asparagus, courtesy of Whitton Farms and the Downtown Memphis Farmers’ Market, and I went through all four bundles I bought and pulled out the biggest, fattest spears to roast today. I had originally planned to wrap them in proscuitto, but you know how the road to hell is paved, and all that. They were awfully good as they were, even if the hollandaise was runny.

We had green peas, your basic frozen, steam-in-the-bag-in-the-microwave green peas, elevated by tossing them with a sizeable chunk of butter and a tablespoon or so of minced fresh tarragon. I love some tarragon on some green peas. Everyone else, not so much, but, you know what? I cooked. I get to season. And if they don’t like the green peas, there’s plenty more for them to eat.

Because, you know, we had the aforementioned mac and cheese. And we had the corn casserole, the canonical corn, sour cream (I didn’t have any, so I used yogurt, and they didn’t even know the difference, chortle, chortle), melted butter, eggs, Jiffy cornbread mix, casserole, which, if I may say so myownself, I added just about exactly enough milk for it to be pretty perfect.

The corn supply in the freezer is getting low. Good thing it’s coming on summer.

I made lemon icebox pies, mentioned in previous post, which are possibly the simplest dessert in the world. Whisk up two cans of sweetened condensed milk with four eggs and 3/4 of a cup of lemon juice. Divide between two pie shells. Bake at 325F for 20 minutes, let cool and refrigerate overnight.  Today, I topped them with strawberries macerated in sugar, and sweetened creme fraiche. They’re fine with just a dollop of whipped cream, or plumb nekkid.

We were full. I sent a care package home with Child C and her family. We’ve got plenty to keep us satisfied this coming week. I have, in fact, a ton of asparagus yet uncooked, and it’ll make itself known in a dish or two before the week is up.

And I planted four tomato plants, to replace some that hadn’t made it through the transplanting process. Added a couple of Cherokee Purples to the heirloom mix (now we have Arkansas Travelers, Marglobes, Celebrities, and Cherokee Purples). I had in mind to go ahead and plant my squash, lima beans, watermelon, eggplant and canteloupe, but y’know, the road to hell, and all that. Perhaps the rain will hold off and I can get it done tomorrow morning.

It was a glorious Easter, complete with two of my favorite hymns during church services this morning. I’m hoping you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em had as wonderful an Easter as I’ve had, and that you dressed all your boy children in seersucker, and that you had a gracious plenty of ham and asparagus for Easter dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

