…slinking in for a quick visit

January 31, 2017

Assembly,not cooking, but good, nevertheless.

Assembly,not cooking, but good, nevertheless.

Yeah, yeah. I know. It’s been almost two weeks. I’ve cooked, a little here and there, but for the most part, my meals have looked like the above — something pulled out of the fridge and piled on a plate.

Not that there’s anything wrong with cheese and charcuterie, y’understand. It’s just that, well, it doesn’t really lend itself to a cooking blog.

I’ve snacked my way through a lot of meals in the last couple of weeks, and been out for several. And I’m about to spend a good bit of the upcoming few days on the road, so there won’t be much cooking there, either. I might cook dinner tonight, and once more the rest of the week, but that’s likely to be it.

What HAVE I cooked? Well, I made toll house cookies the other day. First time I’ve made toll house cookies in several forevers. They’re good. I’m still munching on them.

I made muffins for a birthday observance in my Sunday school class. Used my old standard Peabody vanilla muffin recipe (I do dearly love that recipe, and it’s about the easiest thing ever), and added dried cranberries and walnuts. They were good.

I roasted a chicken, made some potato salad, and cooked some purple hulled peas for Sunday dinner for Children A & C and me. Got leftover chicken, one package of white meat, one of dark, in the freezer, and a quart of double-strength chicken broth in the fridge. I need to portion that out in smaller containers and convey it to the freezer.

I made a cheesecake for a dinner at church. I continue to be amazed at how people just faint at a simple cheesecake with a can of cherry pie filling dumped inside that ring that forms around the top when you bake it. You’d think I’d done a double back flip and produced flaming bananas Foster with one hand and baked Alaska with the other.

I baked a loaf of bread — actually two loaves of bread — and I don’t like them. It’s a honey buttermilk bread. Won’t try that again. I have it sliced in the freezer, and will try to think of some application in which I can use it, as I hate to toss it.

I believe tonight will be Vietnamese caramelized fish, as I found some tilapia in the freezer. With coconut rice, and either some sugar snap peas or a cucumber salad. I’m really jonesing for some okonomiyaki, which I have the stuff to make, but I can’t make those until I actually have people here who will eat them. Besides me, that is.

I’m also jonesing for some spaetzle. I think I’m actually going to get a spaetzle maker. Spaetzle, red cabbage, schweinbraten. Good, yes? Actually, I have some pork chops I cooked in cider recently and didn’t want, so I could just warm those up tonight and cook some egg noodles and pull some red cabbage out of the freezer. H’mm. Yeah. I could do that. The tilapia is frozen; it can stay frozen another day or two.

I’m also about to be jonesing for some posole. And some Tuscan white bean and sausage soup. We have soup night at church in a couple of weeks, so I’ll make one of those then.

And I need to get hold of a couple of duck confit leg quarters and some Toulouse sausages, because I am in the notion for a cassoulet. I have real, honest-to-God tarbais beans, and I might as well use them the way God and Paula Wolfert intended they be used.

It is also close to time to start thinking about starting some seedlings for the garden-to-be. And to get someone over to take down last year’s tomato vines, and get my garden plots tilled up so I can cover them with straw. The front flower bed will be planted to herbs. There will be a fence around the back yard garden to keep the damn bunnies out of my green beans, too. And we will have hordes of tomatoes.

In fact, I think I am off to peruse the seed catalogs. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em have a pleasant day, and get ready to help me come work in my garden.

 

6 Responses to “…slinking in for a quick visit”

  1. koolaidmoms Says:

    It sounds like you cooked quite a bit. I am sitting here eating sliced mozzarella cheese with Sun-dried tomato pesto for lunch. I get the not wanting to cook some days.

  2. Kath the Cook Says:

    hi – do you eat many fresh green lettuce salads? You could make homemade croutons with the unliked bread, yummy.

    or just do a dressing and use it as the bread with veg, sausage, herbs and whatnot to cover up whatever taste you don’t care for. good luck – kath

  3. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Y’know, while I’ll readily eat salads when out, I rarely fix them, or keep the stuff to fix them, at home. Dunno why.

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    I bought sandwich-sliced havarti and Gouda today, along with a loaf of white bread, so I can at least make grilled cheese sandwiches.

  5. koolaidmoms Says:

    🙂

  6. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Got to read tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

