A happy sort of lunch

January 11, 2017

Brie, bacon, tomato. Yum on a piece of toast.

Brie, bacon, tomato. Yum on a piece of toast.

Wherein we contemplate what we might put together for lunch, try something, and it’s sublime.

I was fiddling around in the kitchen with some this and some that, and it came time for lunch. And neither this nor that constituted what I wanted for lunch, so I set about looking for something else.

Something else wound up being a complete flyer on what I thought ought to be good. And it was.

Long-time readers may recall that I like to get cherry tomatoes frequently during the summer, cut them in half, drizzle them in olive oil and sprinkle in sea salt, and roast them. Then they go in plastic baggies in the freezer for assorted uses during the winter. I probably have three quarts or more in the freezer right now; I just reach in and grab what I want, and go ‘head on.

I had been cooking sous vide bacon bits for another application or two, and thought to myself, “Self, it’s a shame you don’t have some good fresh tomato, and you could have a bacon and tomato sandwich for lunch.”

And self said, “Well, you ain’t got that, but I betcha you could use some of those frozen cherry tomatoes.”

And I thought, “Well, damn, self, that ain’t a half bad idea.”

So I fried a couple of slices of bacon, grabbed a handful of tomatoes and put them in a little ramekin to heat in the microwave. Toasted a slice of bread, figuring one slice of that flax seed loaf I’ve been eating would be plenty. Slathered it with mayo, piled on the tomatoes, laid the bacon carefully on top….and decided I’d use a couple of slices of Brie from the wheel in the fridge to top the whole thing.

Put it back in the CSO to toast.

Dear Sweet Baby Jesus. This is a LUNCH, folks.

The sweetness of the mayo merges with the sweetness and acidity of tomatoes for a great first layer, followed by the smoky crispness of the bacon. Then the Brie on top, all bubbly and golden, well, that just really sets it off to perfection.

I seriously had a hard time getting through one open-faced sandwich, not that it wasn’t marvelous, because it was, but because it was so MUCH. Part of that is because that potato flax seed bread is, as the Memphis Guinea Pig noted, “quite substantantial.” A slice of that’ll stay with you.

It was good enough I expect I’ll have another one tomorrow. Maybe just two slices of Brie, instead of three. I don’t even feel too badly about the calories, given it filled me up to the point I haven’t wanted dinner. Well, a couple of pieces of candy may have helped THAT along.

Anyway, I’ve got a new sandwich to spring on you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em, should you ever decide to drop by. In fact, we can put an over easy egg on top of it and call it brunch, whatddya think?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

