Catching up, odds ‘n ends, Happy New Year!

January 6, 2017

Obligatory good-luck dinner for 2017 on Jan. 1.

Obligatory good-luck dinner for 2017 on Jan. 1.

Well, hey there, all y’all! Didja MISS me?

How it was, was, like this. There were enough leftovers I didn’t cook for three or four days after Christmas. Then I left for Nashvegas to babysit AGCs 1 and 3 while their parents, the bums, were off vacationing in Key West.  Now, tending to an energetic kindergartener and an energetic pre-schooler is NOT real conducive to cooking, though we did manage a couple of things.

Like the above obligatory black eyed peas and cabbage for New Year’s Day. The kids were suspicious about it, but finally agreed they liked fried potatoes. One of them liked the cabbage, the other the peas. I’ll call it a win.

I made the peas as if I were cooking red beans and rice, with turkey kielbasa and tomatoes and onions and spices. They were quite excellent. I used Rancho Gordo blackeyed peas, for good measure. My good luck for 2017 should be well assured.

The cabbage was my new favorite treatment for same, sliced into “steaks,” brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper, then roasted. I purely love cabbage like this, although this tasted a bit dried-out, so I suspect it’d been in the store a good while.

Fudge.

Fudge.

And macaroons. No, that is not a missing macaroon. It's a mirage.

And macaroons. No, that is not a missing macaroon. It’s a mirage.

Also while I was up there, I made the overdue peanut butter fudge for Child B, along with a batch of coconut macaroons, since she loves them dearly. Those will be waiting for her when she gets home; they’re back in Tennessee, but presently snowed it at the other grandparents awaiting a clear roadway back to Nashville.

Meanwhile, after I dropped them off at the other grandparents’ on Monday, I came on back and immediately stuck my head into my laptop screen to attack the mound of work that had accumulated. I’m proud to say that I finished up the three projects that had to be completed this week, and am now only facing the two that have to be done the first part of next week, before I launch into the other first-quarter-of-2017 things out there.

Which is all to say, I haven’t done much cooking. I did manage a quick curry one night, and a pot of white beans with ham that Child A pronounced “the best white beans you’ve ever cooked,” which made me right proud, last night. If the snow has not shut down the world (because, as y’all know, it’s the South, and we go stark staring batshit when it snows. I am convinced there is no bread, milk or toilet paper left within a 100-mile radius of Jonesboro), the Memphis Guinea Pig is coming up for the weekend, which means I need to betake me to the grocery (not for bread, milk or toilet paper, although I do need half-and-half for my coffee).

Tentatively, we’re looking at pork tenderloin with pineapple, and coconut rice, tonight; choucroute garnie tomorrow; and yet-to-be-determined on Sunday. Considering it’s not going to be above freezing until Sunday afternoon, we need to concentrate on nice, warming dishes.

I will update you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em. Meanwhile, stay inside and stay warm.

Leave a Reply

