Recycling-R-Us

December 27, 2016

M'mmm. Recycled breakfast. Sheer brilliance, if I did come up with it myownself.

M’mmm. Recycled breakfast. Sheer brilliance, if I did come up with it myownself.

Because, well, sometimes, you bring home carryout you just don’t want right then. And when you can recycle last night’s dinner into this morning’s breakfast, that’s a win any way you look at it.

Yesterday, after Child A and I made a pilgrimage to the nail salon for post-Christmas manicures and pedicures, she decided we were hungry. Now, I did not really think I was hungry, but by the time I got the 1,000 feet from the nail salon to the Steak Escape drive-through, I was hungry. And a cheesesteak sounds marginally healthier (not that I’m sure why) than do most fast food offerings. So I ordered a small steak, no peppers, on wheat bread.

And then I saw they had loaded baked potatoes, with bacon and cheese. OK, I needs me one of those. Got that, too.

Got home and discovered they’d given me a regular steak instead of a small one, and it wasn’t nearly as good as I thought it’d be, so I ate half of it and pitched the other half. And by that time I wasn’t hungry any more, so I popped the baked potato in the fridge, where it balanced precariously atop some other stacked-up stuff.

Sometime after that, I got hit by a veritable tractor-trailer of inspiration. I would fetch that potato out in the morning, I would warm it in the microwave, and I would poach an egg to go atop its bacon and cheese, and I would have a primo breakfast.

Think about it. You go to the local diner and get the breakfast special. You get bacon, eggs, hash browns, maybe with some cheese on the eggs or in the hash browns, yes? Now, what is the difference in taking a baked potato, nice and full of melted cheese and shredded bacon, piping hot, with a runny-yolk egg nestled in it? If I’d been real ambitious, I could’ve made some biscuits to go with it. I wasn’t real ambitious. I didn’t even make a slice of toast, given that potato was the size of my dog’s head and I figured I’d do well to put the major portion of it away.

So I popped an egg in to poach, and while it was doing so, nuked the potato for two minutes. Wasn’t quite hot enough. Gave it another minute. Pulled the plastic wrap off, slipped the egg out of the poaching cup and into its potato nest. Smushed it all up together. Topped it with salt and pepper. It would have been good with some chopped green onions, had I had any.

God almighty, that was good. Good enough I’ll think about doing it with a fast-food baked potato for dinner some night, or with a potato I bake myownself the night before and fill with some cheese and bacon, and then warm up the next day and top with an egg.  In fact, that way, I can better control the size of the potato so’s to not have to throw so much of it away. It’s just as easy and quick as making a slice of toast or stirring together some yogurt and granola.

For a change of pace, you could use scrambled, browned sausage, and, for that matter, scrambled eggs. You could use most any kind of chopped up, leftover meat you had hanging about the fridge. You could take a sweet potato, use leftover pulled pork barbecue for the insides, and maybe some homemade ricotta for the cheese, or leave the cheese off entirely.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em try this one for breakfast. See if you don’t think it makes a nice change once in a while in the morning.

 

Leave a Reply

