Christmas dinner and leftovers!

December 24, 2016

We had a fine, fine Christmas dinner. There is not a single picture of it, because, well, Christmas and all its attendant chaos. Six adults, three kids, two spastic dogs, small house. You get the idea.

The best part of Christmas! AGCs, from left, 1, 3 and 2.

The best part of Christmas! AGCs, from left, 1, 3 and 2.

There is, however, this picture, the single moment during the day when we got a kindergartener and two preschoolers to stand still. And snapped quick. And they’re what it’s all about, anyway.

Dinner prep kinda got away from me, as I had to take a chunk of time out of the morning to roast the turkey I was taking to a local group home for a Christmas meal. And that wouldn’t have been so bad but for the fact I had to run hot water over the turkey, which had been sitting in the bottom of the fridge for three full days, but had barely thawed the least little bit.

The day after: Christmas Eve leftovers lunch.

The day after: Christmas Eve leftovers lunch.

Anyway, got the turkey roasted, gravy made and delivered, and came back home to finish up mine. I had rolls rising, ribs that had just come out of the oven after a 36-hour sous vide bath, and ham and turkey breast in the oven warming. I got potato salad made and was just about to prep asparagus when the thundering herd arrived.

Which, of course, necessitated a break to open Christmas presents. Which we did, and much chaos ensued, and I forgot to put the sweet potatoes in the oven, so things ran a little late. But that was OK.

I had picked up some of the biggest, meatiest ribs I’ve ever seen, two racks of them, at Kroger a few weeks back, thinking in terms of Christmas, and tossed them in the freezer. I got them out earlier this week, and on Wednesday evening, patted them down nicely with a dry rub, bagged them, and stuck them in the sous vide bath at 145 degrees. Pulled them out around noon on Friday and cooled them down.

Then I transferred them to a roasting pan, coated them down with some sauce, and ran them under the broiler for 15 minutes or so to give them a nice crust. Once they cooled enough, again, I cut them into single-bone segments; I think two bones must have as much as anyone ate, because that would account for about eight ounces of pork. Never seen any cut that generously before.

Plunked those in my 9 x 13 baking dish and covered them with foil, so they could get warmed back up again just before we ate. Heated the Honey-baked ham (boneless, sliced) I’d picked up, as well as a Honeybaked  smoked turkey breast, and put some slices of each of those on a platter. We would have plenty of meat.

Leftovers-R-Us. Ribs, turkey and ham, vac-packed for the freezer.

Leftovers-R-Us. Ribs, turkey and ham, vac-packed for the freezer.

And everything that went with it. Child B fixed up a carryout bag for Child C (God knows when they’ll eat it, as they’ve got family Christmas things all weekend). We ate about a quarter of the white chocolate cherry cheesecake, and about a quarter of the pecan pie, about half the asparagus, about half the cranberry salad, about two-thirds of the mac and cheese, almost all the potato salad, maybe a third of the sweet potatoes.

I do not plan to cook for a WHILE.

Had my first leftovers lunch from that today. I sliced open two rolls, spread one with Dijon mustard and one with curried mayo. The Dijon roll got ham and Swiss, the curried mayo one turkey and swiss. Fixed myself a dish of cranberry salad, the last little dib of potato salad, and a handful of olives.

Then I packaged up meat for the freezer, keeping out a dinner’s worth of ribs and a decent portion of both turkey and ham, and consolidated down from some larger serving dishes to smaller containers. And against that expected wealth of sandwiches in the coming week, I made a loaf of sandwich bread this evening. (Since I took an afternoon nap and woke up at five minutes to six, I didn’t make it to church for 6 p.m. Christmas Eve service, so I settled myself in with a wee dram of eggnog and a slice of cheesecake for dinner.)

Child A and I are all snug in our Christmas jammies (not Christmas themed, but new ones for Christmas), and will breakfast on pigs in blankets in the morning. I will go to church, and come home and we’ll snack on stuff the rest of the day. I cannot even begin to list all there is upon which to snack.

I hope this Christmas Eve finds you warm, and full, and with family and friends. If you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em need a rest stop during your after-Christmas sale shopping, come on by and we’ll fix you a sandwich.

 

 

Leave a Reply

