Because I could

December 8, 2016

When you get an urge....

When you get an urge….

Sometimes, it’s good to be a grown-up. Because when you want to, you can eat junk and no one tells you you can’t. Or you can cook something that might fit well within a larger dinner, but eat nothing but that for dinner because you want to.

On the day in question, I did both.

I got up and had a Diet Coke and Oreos for breakfast. Now, I used to drink five or six Diet Cokes a day and think nothing of it, but about a year ago, I just decided they were not good for me and, for the most part, quit. I’d get one occasionally while I was out, and I’d generally stop off and get one to take in to Sunday School class on Sunday mornings, but otherwise, I pretty much shifted over to either coffee or water, with an occasional foray into juice.

But since I’ve had the Christmas Crud, I discovered that Diet Coke is one thing that could cut the junk that was coating my throat, so I’ve been drinking it for the last couple of weeks. This was my last one in the sixpack; now I’m giving them up again.

The Oreos I bought the other day because, dadgummit, I wanted junk food. I was under the weather, I felt like hell on a stick, and I wanted junk food, and junk food I would have. So I bought Pringles and Oreos.

And this particular morning, I wanted Oreos. I guess I’ve finally burnt myself out on yogurt and granola, after eating it for a year. I wasn’t ambitious enough to actually COOK anything. Yep. Oreos it was.

Then I had Pringles for lunch. About half a can of same. OK, it may have been a whole can. I’m a grown-up. I can do that if I want to.

About midafternoon, I was hungry again, so I had a bowl of Rice Chex cereal. That’s healthy, right? I mean, it could’ve been Captain Crunch or Fruit Loops or something.

So I commenced thinking about dinner. I had boiled some eggs a day or so earlier, thinking about deviled eggs, and I opened the refrigerator and they looked at me. You ever had eggs look at you? It’s sort of spooky. I figured I’d avoid that happening again, and I’d devil them.

My deviled eggs are minimalist eggs, unless I’m doing fancy ones. I love deviled eggs with smoked salmon and caviar. But a basic deviled egg ain’t no slouch, either. My recipe:

  • Six hard-boiled eggs
  • 2 tbsp Hellman’s mayo (do NOT use a cheap sub here, or I will glare at you, and I’m scarier than an egg)
  • 1 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp sweet pickle relish
  • paprika

Mash the egg yolks. Mix in everything except the paprika. Stuff the filling into the egg whites, and sprinkle with paprika. Boom. You’re done.

I’ve done deviled eggs with bacon bits in them; that’s good, as are the aforementioned smoked salmon ones. And I’ve had some interesting ones made with anchovies and olive tapenade. One of these days, I’m going to do some Asian pickled eggs in soy sauce and rice vinegar, and use them, so the whites will have a bit of flavor and serve as more than just a vehicle for the yolk. Maybe mash the yolks with some grated ginger and minced shrimp? That sounds like it has possibilities.

Heck. I can do that if I want to. I’m a grown-up. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em can just go ahead and laugh at me, like you no doubt would have done the other night when I had potato salad for dinner. Or, as the old song goes, “Don’t make no difference if I do.”

 

Leave a Reply

