Annndddd…off we go to Thanksgiving!

November 19, 2016

Fifty years plus worth of Thanksgivings and Christmases...that I can remember.

Fifty years plus worth of Thanksgivings and Christmases…that I can remember.

The cooking has begun.

Reposing in my refrigerator as we speak are three, count them, three dishes of cranberry salad.  One will go to church with me tomorrow for the Thanksgiving potluck. One is stashed for next week’s dinner. And what wouldn’t fit in either one is in the fridge for me and Child A to eat between now and then, because she and I? Will eat that stuff like it’s ice cream.

Also made a sweet potato casserole; not the family T’giving one, but the church T’giving one, because I didn’t have as many sweet potatoes as I thought I did. No matter. That’s relatively simple to make, and I’ll get to it next Wednesday or so.

As my annual holiday gift to you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em, in case you didn’t record it last year, here’s my cranberry salad recipe. Gen-you-wine Atchison family heirloom, it is, and well over half a century old.

  • 1 12-oz bag fresh cranberries
  • 1 red apple (I like to use Fuji)
  • 1 green apple (I like Granny Smith)
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1 orange
  • 1 small box cranberry or raspberry jello
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup water

Chop cranberries in food processor. Core, but don’t peel, apples, and chop those. Zest orange, then peel and puree orange flesh. Combine all the fruit and nuts in a bowl. Make a simple syrup of water and sugar; when sugar is completely dissolved and water is nearly boiling, remove from heat and whisk in jello. Pour syrup over fruit and stir to mix well.

This doesn’t make a congealed salad, but rather, forms a sort of syrupy “dressing”  for the fruit.

Make this. It’s more important to my holiday table than anything else.

I have in my head a general schedule for cooking this week, which should involve me not half losing my mind on Friday. Having a late dinner will help.

Monday, himself the turkey will be delivered around 3 p.m. He’s 23 pounds. He will reside in the fridge overnight, and go into a two-day brine on Tuesday afternoon/evening. Also Monday, if I can get in touch with my knife-sharpening fellow, I’ll take my knives to have them sharpened. They’re due. And I’ll make cornbread for dressing; having forgotten to order dressing, I’m imploring a good friend for her recipe for crock-pot dressing that she says everyone swears by.

Tuesday, I’ll bake my coconut cake and get it in the fridge to start the “getting-right” process.  Will also most likely make the cheesecake. I think it’s going to be a peanut butter cheesecake with a chocolate topping. Because that sounds good. Because Child B is gluten-intolerant, the crust will be made from granola.

Wednesday, I’ll probably make the sweet potato casserole, to the point of getting it ready to go in the oven. Will stuff and wrap some dates for baking Thursday.

Thursday, since Child A and I won’t be doing a big T’giving dinner, I think I’ll make us a big T’giving brunch. With waffles. Because we love some waffles. I’ll get the bird out of the brine and let him dry overnight in the fridge. May mix up the dressing. Will thaw and slice the gravlax, make a relish tray (I have some pickle-eating children!).

Friday morning, I’ll get the bird on to roast moderately early.  I’ll put the dressing in the IP to cook. Will have brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes to make midafternoon, and rolls to make, though I could make them Thursday and par-bake them.

If all goes as planned, I should be relatively non-exhausted when we sit down to eat Thanksgiving dinner. There’ll be eight, possibly 10, adults and three munchkins, who’ll be dining on beach towels in the floor because that’s how they roll. My table has two leaves and I have plenty of chairs (though they don’t all match). You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come on.

 

2 Responses to “Annndddd…off we go to Thanksgiving!”

  1. cleavelin Says:

    There is such a thing as cranberry jello? I don’t think I’ve ever seen that in the store…

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    New, I think. First time I’ve seen it. Mama’s recipe calls for raspberry.


Leave a Reply

