Pork posole plus

October 20, 2016

soup-clip-artThe pork roast that keeps on giving has now given me a fine, fine batch of posole.

I don’t know why posole isn’t more popular than it is. Its cousin, tortilla soup, gets all the love. But posole, with its squeaky grains of hominy, embodies much of the same taste and texture, in a much more, to me, interesting fashion.

Particularly this batch. No photos, because, well, soup just isn’t that photogenic.

I have a great from-scratch posole recipe. But it’s been ages since I made it, and I wasn’t certain where I’d stashed it, so I went googling for one to give me a general guideline, as I knew I wasn’t going to go exactly by the recipe anyway. And I found one from Epicurious that included pinto beans as well as the hominy. “Well,” sez I to myself, “that ought to work.” And Self agreed it would, so we set about it.

I thawed out a couple of pints of  chicken stock, giving thanks once again for the day I learned to make and freeze stock, because it’s SO damn handy, and cooked about 1/3 of a pound of Rancho Gordo pinto beans in it in the Instant Pot. Added some sauteed onions and garlic, a quart of canned tomatoes, two 15-ounce cans of drained hominy, and at the last minute, decided to chop up some yellow squash and some zucchini and add that. Because, well, the native Americans and Latinos who first came up with posole in the Southwest would have been likely to do that, it seemed to me. Chopped up about two cups of pulled pork from the roast and added that.

I spiced it with about half a tablespoon each of smoked paprika, cumin and ancho chile powder, along with some oregano.  Gave it another 20 minutes on low pressure in the IP, which softened the veggies just perfectly; tasted and added about a half-teaspoon of salt.

This is good soup. It has a warm, bright flavor without being overly spicy. The additions of beans and squash make it more texturally interesting than regular posole. There’s plenty of meat to make it hearty, especially with the added protein from the beans.

It will definitely make more appearances on my winter soup rotation.

I had made the potful to take to our church’s Wednesday night soup potluck. That’s a fun event — lots of homemade soups, with bread and chips and such, for eating and swapping afterward. I had some wonderful potato soup, and followed that up with some chili, both of which were excellent. There was chicken noodle and broccoli-cheese and minestrone, too, along with another chili. Several different homemade breads, and banana bread for dessert.

 

Leave a Reply

