Curry in a hurry (yes, it’s a reprise of a former title on a new post)

October 8, 2016

Curry. In a hurry. And good, and easy.

Curry. In a hurry. And good, and easy.

I nailed the chicken curry last night. Nailed. It.

Decided I needed to cook. Didn’t know what I wanted. Decided to thaw chicken breasts, on the basis that I could go in a bunch of directions from there.

Wound up with chicken curry. And I didn’t pull out a recipe, I just winged it with what I know generally goes in there. Worked like a charm.

I had frozen chicken breasts I’d picked up at the natural market one day when I was out of chicken, then decided not to cook them and stuck them in the freezer. I hauled them out and diced them small, then tossed them in a mixture of a teaspoon each of cumin and coriander, a half-teaspoon of turmeric, a teaspoon and a half of curry powder and about a quarter teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Let the pieces sit in that spice mixture on the counter for 30 minutes or so while I got rice started cooking, diced and sauteed an onion, and cut up cucumbers for a salad.

Sauteed the onion; when it got soft, threw the chicken into the skillet with it. Sauteed that on medium high heat until it was no longer showing pink. Added a cup of chicken broth and a can of coconut milk. Turned it down to medium, clapped a lid on and let it simmer a few minutes while I cut up a zucchini and a couple of tiny yellow squash to toss in there as well. Another 10 minutes, then lid off and heat up to reduce the sauce to a nice consistency. Made a sesame oil-rice vinegar-mirin dressing with soy sauce and ginger for the cukes.

Simple. Quick. Good. Just the thing for a Friday night when you’re hungry and want something tasty, but don’t want to put a lot of effort into it.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em keep this one on hand for the nights you need curry in a hurry.

 

Leave a Reply

