Unprocessed — by anyone but me!

September 16, 2016

october-unprocessed-2016This is a pretty cool thing.

I ran across this on Facebook yesterday, and as it tickled my fancy (which was currently looking for something to tickle it and keep me in a sitting position on the couch, rather than up getting stuff done, which I ought to have been doing), so I clicked.

Simple enough challenge. In October, eat nothing you can’t cook in your own kitchen. That doesn’t limit you to JUST eating your own cooking, but it needs to be something without additives, as close to natural as you can get it. It’s the brainchild of the guy who has the Eating Rules website. His rules are simple:

  1. Eat no grains except 100 percent whole grains
  2. Eat nothing with high fructose corn syrup
  3. Eat no trans fats

Not a bad set of rules, although I’d alter them a bit. There are times, when I’m baking, that I want or need to use white flour (though at present, I’m in the middle of a batch of sourdough whole wheat and a batch of sourdough rye, although they do both have some white flour in the starter).  Mine would look more like this:

  1. Eat no fast food.
  2. Drink no soda, or as it is in my mind, Coke, albeit my bug-a-boo is Diet Coke.
  3. Eat at least three servings of veggies and three servings of fruit a day.

But nevertheless. You’re not dumb, you know the things you consume that are bad for you. You can make up your own set of rules that work for you.

But what this guy has done in October Unprocessed is to go a step further — eat only unprocessed foods, for 31 solid days. Well, maybe 30. There is, after all, Halloween candy out there.

Unprocessed, for purposes of his definition, would mean containing no ingredients you couldn’t reasonably be expected to have or procure in your own kitchen. That ranges from the lecthin in mass-market sandwich bread to the Red Dye No. 3 in hot dogs. Nitrites in bacon, I might note, are OK, at least for me. I have nitrites in my kitchen cabinet, left over from my experiment at curing Canandian bacon. Don’t ask. It might have been good if I had not forgotten it for a week in the fridge, where it was sitting, uncovered, to dry out before smoking.

It did. Dry out, that is. Sigh.

But I digress.

I’m kinda all about the unprocessed October thing. For one thing, it’s the time of year when I like to be in the kitchen. Days are shorter, nights are cooler, it’s time to think about soups and stews and homemade bread. Pots of beans, with cornbread. Steamed puddings. A little Eric Clapton “Unplugged” to set the mood.

Of course, it is also the month I’m going to Boston for three days, and I won’t testify that I won’t be eating some processed goodies there. Although my wanna-eat-it list is pretty short: Lobster roll, Italian at LoConte’s, lobster roll, goodies at Faneuil Hall, lobster roll, a Sam Adams at Cheers. And a lobster roll.

But you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em think about joining me for unprocessing yourself in October.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

