The weekend cometh!

August 26, 2016

Chicken gumbo over rice, with yellow squash, zucchini, eggplant. OK, hybrid gumbo-ratatouille.

Chicken gumbo over rice, with yellow squash, zucchini, eggplant. OK, hybrid gumbo-ratatouille.

As a matter of fact, in about 18 minutes, here, I’m about to declare my home in the Eastern Time Zone and pour myself a glass of wine, because it has been a WEEK, can I just tell you? Following close upon the heels of the WEEK before that.

And I still have a powerpoint presentation I need to finish this evening because it’s due by close of business Wednesday, and I am going to be gone Monday and Tuesday. I hate to wait until Wednesday to finish it, but I may wind up doing so.

Because I would rather write about food and such.

Not that there is a great deal of food to write about. I have done not a great deal in the kitchen except for making a chicken gumbo, which was really a hybrid gumbo/ratatouille, which was pretty good.

A rare creature; the knockoff Yeti tumbler.

A rare creature; the knockoff Yeti tumbler.

But I have BOUGHT things for the kitchen, yes, I have. Like an Ozark Trail tumbler, the WalMart knockoff of a Yeti, which actually in several comparisons tests about as well as a Yeti in keeping things cold and hot. I had been periodically checking in WalMart for several weeks, trying to catch them in stock, and it’s dang hard to do; I lucked upon a 30-oz tumbler and snapped it up (it was the only one left in the house), and plan to swing by tomorrow at oh-early-thirty on my way to the Farmers Market to see if I can score a couple of the 20-ounce coffee mugs, because I am ALWAYS letting my coffee get cold.

Gonna have to get me a monogram for my tumbler, I think. I like it. It keeps water out of the fridge dispenser cool all day, as I carry it around and sip on it. Dang thing’s heavy, though. It’s almost a two-hander for me if it’s full. But I have seen a LOT more of WalMart in the past few weeks than I care to on a regular basis.

Who, me, a cheeserventtion? Nah. Don't think so.

Who, me, a cheeserventtion? Nah. Don’t think so.

Same day I hit WalMart, I did some grocery shopping. Been a while since I splurged on cheese, so I was due — and most conveniently, they had a bunch of cheese marked down. That may be dinner, with another glass of wine.

No, I don’t think I need a cheeservention, thank you very much.

Yes, another. I declared my residence Eastern Time Zone right after I wrote the above reference to it, got the laundry out of the dryer, and fed the dog. I am in to the first glass, and life looks MUCH better.

Dry milk, in bulk. Yeah, I buy weird stuff.

Dry milk, in bulk. Yeah, I buy weird stuff.

The day after all that shopping and errand running, Amazon brought me this for my kitchen. “This” is a five-pound bag of non-fat dry milk, which I have learned is a fine, fine thing for making yogurt, and as I eat yogurt most every morning, there you go. Fifty bucks for a five-pound bag, but it’s more than that if you get it at the grocery. Haven’t tried it yet; will let you know. A cup and a half dry measure will make a half-gallon of milk, which will make between a quart and a quart and a half of yogurt, which means this bag ought to do me until this time next year.

I also ordered anchovies, because, ferGawdsakes, you can’t find anchovies at Kroger! I was astounded. First thing I’ve expected to find there that I didn’t.

Tomorrow, I’ll be off to the Farmers’ Market and then to work at the soup kitchen, and then it’ll be off to Little Rock on Sunday for a couple of nights. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em play nice while I’m gone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

