Lunch at home

August 24, 2016

A lunch that's damned hard to beat.

A lunch that’s damned hard to beat.

One of the good things about working from a home office, in addition to being able to cook things that take a long period of inactivity punctuated with periodic tasks, like breadbaking, or doing laundry, is that you get to rummage through the fridge for what can be a great lunch.

Like the one above. I mean, homemade pimiento cheese, bacon, and a backyard tomato, on homemade wheat bread. Just doesn’t get much better than that.

As an aside, one of the great things about being a Southerner is that you’re brought up with pimiento cheese. Not that nasty grocery store kind, either; the real, honest-to-god stuff with cayenne pepper in it that is the stuff of wonders. I need to get my gas grill bottle refilled so I can grill burgers with pimiento cheese on top, come to think of it.

I believe I’ve posted my pimiento cheese recipe before; here ’tis again.

  • 8 ounces grated extra sharp cheddar
  • 8 ounces grated Velveeta (semi-freeze the Velveeta; grates easier!)
  • 1 big jar diced pimientos, drained
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise, either Hellman’s or homemade
  • 1/2 tsp Lawry’s seasoned salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, or to taste

Whisk last five ingredients together. Pour over cheeses, add pimientos, and toss to coat. Let sit in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors meld and bloom.

Marvelous stuff, I’m telling you.

German potato salad, poached egg yolks, broken and slightly overcooked.

German potato salad, poached egg yolks, broken and slightly overcooked.

Then again, back to the realm of lunch, you can rummage for leftovers and put together something. Like the above.

I had leftover German potato salad, which is not REALLY so far removed from hash browns; more tang to ’em, plus bacon. Well, BACON. That just calls for eggs.

I nuked my potato salad from just about 30 seconds, enough to take the fridge chill off and warm it just a little. I poached two egg yolks, both of which I managed to break (I don’t LIKE egg whites; sorry!), and put them into a little well in the center of the potatoes.

A perfectly acceptable lunch. Acceptable enough I did it again the next day, didn’t break the yolks, and forgot to take a better photo.

Today, I believe lunch will center around some Romas I just picked from the garden, and some homemade ricotta cheese. And something else yet to be determined.

Other benefits of working from home, of course, include that one can work on one’s blog instead of the work projects on which one really needs to be busy. Then one can work on the work projects later, while one is watching baseball and sipping wine, which generally always makes work projects go better. I highly recommend you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em try the judicious application of wine to work. It helps. I swear it does.

Meanwhile, I think I’m going to go start some bread, and then get busy on my powerpoint presentation that’s due the end of this week.

 

 

One Response to “Lunch at home”


  1. I didn’t grow up with pimento cheese but from the sounds of it, I’d like it. I work from home too and love eating whatever I want, especially after having a rummage in the fridge!

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is WORK DAY EATING which includes any recipe or food experience suitable for the work day such as lunch, snacks or easy meals.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/


Leave a Reply

