Yes, well, I’m still alive

August 19, 2016

I’m here. I’ve even cooked.

I’ve also been in the middle of a fairly good-sized project with a short deadline, and I really should be working on it now, but I’ve had two glasses of wine and I could not testify to the quality of my work product.

So.

It’s been a busy week. After the Best Roast Chicken Ever, I did not cook for a couple of nights, and then I excavated the Hawaiian Rib-eye marinated steaks from the freezer to grill because friend Kate had come up for a couple of days. I highly encourage you to click that link, make that marinade, and grill that steak. It’s damn good. There is an enzyme in pineapple juice that does wonders for tenderizing meat, and it worked a treat on this grass-fed ribeye, I am here to tell you.

I marinated it for 48 hours, decided I wasn’t going to cook it, drained the marinade off, bagged it, and stuck it in the freezer, where it reposed for a couple of weeks. I was afraid it would be mushy, but it wasn’t. These are some BIG rib-eyes, and two of them made all three of us were interested in eating.

No photos, because, well, I didn’t think of it, but we had coconut rice (recipe here), Asian cucumber salad (dressing of rice vinegar, sesame oil, mirin, sugar, ginger, soy sauce until it tastes right), and sweet potato fries. These are frozen sweet potato fries I cook in the oven, which I would have cooked in the CSO but for the fact it was busy cooking steaks, because the Godforsaken gas grill picked That Night to run out of gas.  They are, I might add, addictive.

Steak was pretty much perfection. I learned that steam broil at 500F, 5 minutes on a side, will turn out a pretty much perfect steak, a nice little edge of done surrounding a big ol’ hot-pink middle. Cucumbers should have been peeled; the skins were a tad bitter. Rice was excellent.

The next night, as I had been in the middle of this project and had not taken time to plan or prep dinner, I fell back on easy and left-overs. We had chicken left from the roasted bird, frozen green peas, mashed potatoes and gravy.

For once, I aced the the gravy (which is forever my culinary weak point). I had saved the juices and fat that cooked out of the chicken, so I heated those and stirred in some flour, then thinned with some chicken broth and cooked until it was the right consistency. The mashed potatoes were basic mashed potatoes — peeled, cubed and boiled redskins, to which were applied generous portions of butter and cream and a workover with the potato masher. Peas, frozen, were the basic boil for two or three minutes, drain, toss with butter.

We ate until we were just about miserable. It just seemed to hit the spot.

I doubt I shall cook much of anything this weekend, as I will have a house full of grandchildren and will be too busy being KayKay to cook. They get either left-over chicken or chicken nuggets, though I may bestir myself to make overnight waffles for breakfast Sunday morning, and they’ll get grilled cheese for lunch Sunday. With lots of fruit. Must get fruit at farmers’ market!

You n’ y’mama ‘n ’em say a brief prayer for me as I head into a weekend with three young’uns aged kindergarten and below. We’ll see how much fun I can stand.

 

Leave a Reply

