A new fritter!

July 25, 2016

Shrimp fritters with comeback sauce. Will be coming back to this one.

Shrimp fritters with comeback sauce. Will be coming back to this one.

Long time readers will have noted that I am a big fan of fritters. Zucchini fritters, corn fritters, okonomiyaki, potato pancakes, latkes, arepas, you name it, any combo of carb and veggies and/or protein you can make into a patty and pan-fry, and I’m on it.

So when I read about shrimp fritters with corn, I knew I had to try them. Even though they didn’t seem like they’d work, but I had the testimony of a fellow food poster that they, in fact, would.

So I set about thawing out some shrimp and trying them out to see.

Her recipe called for a pound of shrimp and two cups of corn. By the time I’d peeled my raw shrimp, there were 12 ounces of them, and as she had opined she’d use less corn next time, I decided to do the same.

One takes half the shrimp, and puts them in the food processor, where one proceeds to whir them up into a paste. Meanwhile, one roughly chops the remaining shrimp and three or four green onions.  All that gets stirred together with the shrimp paste, which serves as a binder. I added a cup of frozen corn, as opposed to fresh corn kernels, since I didn’t have any fresh corn in the house, along with the called-for smoked paprika. And at the last minute, I added a bit of tarragon, because tarragon just seems to go with corn and shrimp.

Stirred that all up and made eight patties, about 2 1/2 inches across. These went into the freezer for 20 minutes, and then into the fridge until I was ready to fry them. They firmed up nicely, and fried up nicely.

They had promise. They were pretty good, but just slightly missed the mark. I think, next time, I’d change up the seasoning profile a little; leave out the paprika, and just go with the tarragon, or omit both and go with a ginger/sesame oil/sriracha combo.

Put them in hot peanut oil. My electric stove has settings of high and low, and in between, dial points marked from one to 9. I tend to cook a lot of pan-fried stuff like this on 8, which is what I did with these. They held together beautifully and browned nicely, despite the lack of any bread crumb coating.

Who’d’a thunk it?

We had them with pea salad, jail slaw and roasted broccoli. They were quite excellent. I made some comeback sauce to go with them, as I do love a good comeback sauce with most any kind of fritter, with the exception of a latke, and okonomiyaki, which want a good soy-sriracha mayo.

I will be playing more with these and bringing them back for updates on different spicings. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

