More leftover salad

June 13, 2016

Yum. Fine lunch, even if it was mostly leftovers.

Yum. Fine lunch, even if it was mostly leftovers.

NOTE: Here’s a post I mostly wrote before I got all crippled up, so y’all won’t miss me TOO much. In other news, I successfully cut up a canteloupe this morning. Carry on.

I put the rest of that leftover roasted corn to good use today, and will have another lunch or two off of it before it’s gone.

Together with the rest of the sliced tomato I had on a BLT yesterday, and the remains of a fresh pineapple that MIGHT have one more day left in it, it was a fine leftovers lunch.

Not to mention another fine use for roasted corn. This is a minimalist version of a salad I’ve made before, but there’s certainly nothing wrong with it. I was going to make up another batch of the corn/avocado/bacon salad, but the remaining avocado had reposed too long on the countertop. So I stuck the corn in the microwave to nuke for a minute and take the chill off, and contemplated the pantry.

A few moments’ excavation revealed a can of black beans. Yep, that’ll work. Opened them, dumped them in a strainer, and rinsed them thoroughly in hot water. Let them drain in the sink while I threw together a quick dressing of mayonnaise, lime juice, and smoked paprika, along with a pinch of cayenne (essentially the same dressing I used earlier this week on the other salad). If I’d had green onions, I would have put some of those in; if you like raw onions, or bell pepper, any or all of those would be fine to add. I don’t, so I don’t. I’ve also used pimiento peppers in this.

Stirred that all up. I wish I’d had a bit higher ratio of corn to beans, but that’s purely a personal preference. Meanwhile, I’d sliced up the rest of the day before’s tomato, salted it, and laid it out on a paper towel to drain a bit, and I dished myself up some pineapple with cottage cheese.

Looked in vain for some mozzarella in the fridge before remembering I had tossed it out during refrigerator cleanout a couple of days ago. But I still had fresh ricotta, so I crumbled some of that over my tomatoes, and drizzled basil oil over the top. Primo caprese salad, it was.

Veggie spread on toast with ricotta, with the aforementioned corn salad, peaches and cottage cheese.

Veggie spread on toast with ricotta, with the aforementioned corn salad, peaches and cottage cheese.

In other leftover activities, I was making a pitcher of veggie juice, and straining out the veggie solids, as I don’t like the texture of a “veggie smoothie.” Started to toss said solids in the compost, and thought, “Hey, those might taste good. They did. I spread some over some ricotta on a piece of toast. Primo stuff.

The veggie juice had a quart of tomatoes, a quart of tomato juice, a zucchini, a beet, some carrots (beet and carrots steamed until soft), a big bunch of spinach, a handful of parsley, a handful of basil, and some veggie stock. This didn’t even need seasoning (though some Worcestershire does not go amiss). The solids, a bit thicker than commercial tomato paste, would make a nice base for bolognese sauce, and I may use them as such.

Speaking of tomatoes, it looks as though I may have a harvest soon. A couple of my yellow cherry tomatoes are starting to turn. I am unconscionably excited. I’m up to 22 Romas on my plants, but nary a heirloom to be seen yet. Plenty of blooms, though. And still just three tomatoes on my hybrids (two Park Whoppers and one Magnificent). I guess they’ll pick up eventually.

If the number of buds on my crookneck squash and zucchini are any indication, I’ll have a bumper crop of both. Vines are just about kneehigh and spreading out to the point of almost covering the width of the flower bed. Looks like a healthy crop of cucumbers as well.  And I got my beans replanted this evening, ahead of the rain we’re supposed to get all weekend.

It’s fixing to be all veggies, all the time up in here at Chez Brockwell. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come on up and we’ll be sure you don’t go away hungry.

 

Leave a Reply

