I CAN cook!

June 12, 2016

Not gourmet. Not complicated. Didn't matter.

Not gourmet. Not complicated. Didn’t matter.

Granted, it’s nothing fancy. But can I just tell you, tonight’s dinner was the best scrambled eggs I ever ate in my life?

Because I figured out, with the desk chair cranked up to its highest level, and someone to get stuff down from top cabinets that I can’t reach, I can cook.

Can’t convey it from the kitchen to my little nest in the den to EAT it, but as long as it’s not too complex, I can cook it.

Necessity is the mother of invention.

Necessity is the mother of invention.

I had considered this issue and decided I could, quite likely, use the desk chair to scoot around from fridge to cabinet to sink to stove, albeit I had figured on standing up to actually prep and cook. But jacked up to its highest level, the desk chair lets me even sit down to cook. So when Child A asked me what I wanted for dinner, I told her I wanted to scramble some eggs and toast some English muffins. And I did.

For good measure, I got myself an after dinner glass of wine, too.

I may be crippled, but I’ll be damned if I’ll be helpless. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come on up and I’ll scramble an egg for you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

