Leftovers rule!

June 1, 2016

Yum. Yum on a plate. Make it soon. Leftovers worth having.

Yum. Yum on a plate. Make it soon. Leftovers worth having.

People. Make this salad. Make it as soon as you possibly can.

And then thank me.

Because this is one of the best quick little salads you can make when corn and tomatoes are in season, and it’s worth cooking extra ears of corn whenever you cook corn. And it’s relatively healthy for you. A serving has about 350 calories, but it makes a light meal, and it’s chock full of healthy Omega-Three fats.

I had roasted extra corn Monday evening when I grilled steak, just so I’d have leftover corn. After dinner when I was cleaning up, I cut the kernels off the four ears we didn’t eat, and stashed it in the fridge. I had picked up avocados at the grocery when I saw they had relatively fresh-looking corn, and I grabbed two of those as well. And of course, I had two pounds of bacon, cooked, in the fridge.

So I got out about a cup of the corn kernels, and nuked them for 30 seconds, just to take the chill off. While that was going on, I diced up a tennis-ball-sized tomato and let it drain on a couple of paper towels, and got out three slices of bacon and diced/crumbled it. Corn came out and bacon went in, 10 seconds, again, just enough to take the chill off.

Bacon went in dish with corn; then I pitted and diced one of the avocados and added that. Squeezed half the lime over it. Added the tomatoes. A sprinkle of seasoned salt, the merest pinch of red pepper, and a tablespoon of mayo, and tossed it all together until things were well coated.

And dished up half of it with some leftover deviled eggs and very nearly the last of this batch of jail slaw I’ve been nibbling on for a month.

Dear Sweet Baby Jesus. Sweet corn, tart lime juice, creamy avocado, smoky, salty bacon, piquant pops of flavor and juice from the tomato. In. Every. Bite. Take me now, Lord. I very nearly went back and had the other half for a second helping, but I was trying to be moderate, here.

It would make a good main dish salad for a brunch or light lunch as it is, but you could add some more protein by chopping up some smoked, grilled or roasted chicken to it, if you had a notion. Personally, I see no point. Obviously, you want to eat it fairly quickly, or the avocado will turn dark and start to break down, which is why I had the rest for breakfast this morning. But when you have everything cooked, it’s literally just minutes to heat a couple of elements briefly and then mix it up.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em may send your thank-you notes to me in care of this blog. You’re welcome.

 

2 Responses to “Leftovers rule!”

  1. Cathe Patton Says:

    I’m going to try this very SOON! And, thank you!:)

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Hope you love it as much as I do! You could also add onions, etc., and most anything else that sounds good to you!


Leave a Reply

