This time of year

May 28, 2016

One batch of market goodies -- potatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, yellow squash, peas.

One batch of market goodies — potatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, yellow squash, peas.

Lord help me, I love summer. I especially love it from the middle of May through the middle of July, when gardens and farmers’ markets are bringing forth some new delight every week. No accident my birthday falls right in the middle of that period, I’ve always thought.

Second installment of market haul: Cinnamon rolls, tomatoes, blueberries, peaches.

Second installment of market haul: Cinnamon rolls, tomatoes, blueberries, peaches.

Witness this morning at the market. I had to make two — TWO!! — trips to the car, because I filled my basket up before I got through.

Trip 1: Tomatoes, peaches, blueberries, cinnamon rolls and two of the biggest heads of cabbage I’ve ever seen. (Better than 10 pounds total for the two.)

Trip 2: Yellow squash, zucchini, new potatoes, cucumbers, spring green peas.

Huge freakin' cabbages. A touch over 10 pounds for the pair.

Huge freakin’ cabbages. A touch over 10 pounds for the pair.

And then I stopped by Krispy Kreme, because the “hot” sign was on, and treated myself to a donut and a half. Lucy got the other half, and was quite pleased.

Home before 8 a.m.

Which is a Good Thing, because today is holiday cookout day for the kids and me, and I have potato salad and baked beans and deviled eggs to make. I also have to go to the dreaded WalMart (this will be twice in a week, which will fulfill my WalMart quota for the next six months) and get some kind of plastic bucket in which to ferment sauerkraut, because that is the destination of the two heads of cabbage (but not today).

And I just put eggs on to boil for deviled eggs, and promptly forgot them. Wonder if I’ve ruined them; can you overcook hardboiled eggs? I mean, they probably boiled for 10 minutes. Maybe 15.

Oops. Well, I have plenty. We shall see.

Oh. And a blackberry cobbler. Because Sam’s had blackberries bigger than my thumb. And I couldn’t resist. I may even make some homemade ice cream. And we have a watermelon in the fridge.

Long weekend plans include cooking out today, and likely grilling a steak for me and Child A tomorrow night. I have been told of a method of grilling Vidalia onion rings wrapped in bacon, with gochujang and honey glaze. I have all the ingredients. I think they’d make a primo side to a steak. Monday, I may grill some chicken. Because, well, it’s the traditional beginning of summer, and one ought to grill, yes? Yes.

I also hope to take some time Monday morning and go to a Memorial Day service. Because this weekend, of all weekends, we ought to take some time to say Thanks for veterans who lost their lives on the field of battle, so I, and you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em, and all the rest of us, CAN grill and go to the lake and drink a cold beer and all the other requisite summer activities we enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

