Garden update

May 9, 2016

I’m beginning to be of the opinion new gardeners are about as silly as new grandparents. That is to say, I’m inordinately proud of my tiny little plots, and excited about the progress they’re showing.

Today’s big news:

Where there are blossoms, tiny tomatoes can't be far behind!

Where there are blossoms, tiny tomatoes can’t be far behind!

Tomato blossoms! Much earlier than I expected. Must find some aluminum pie tins and tie to the cages to keep the birds away. Will turn Jack, the Yorkie granddog, out into the back yard and let him keep the squirrels and rabbits at bay. He thinks he’s a Rottweiler anyway, so he can work out some of his aggression and earn his keep.

They're tiny, but they're there! The promise of beans to come.

They’re tiny, but they’re there! The promise of beans to come.

And Kentucky Wonders! A few are still to come through the dirt, but at least it looks like I’ll get a decent stand. I know my Daddy is proud. I suspect, if these bear worth a flip this year, I’ll plant one whole patch in them next spring. I may perhaps need another plot tilled up for more tomatoes and/or something else. These will need to be thinned, but I’m waiting until after today’s expected rain and to let things dry out again.

Looks like a bumper crop of squashes in the making.

Looks like a bumper crop of squashes in the making.

Yellow squash and zucchini are thriving.  I’ve thinned them once,  but may need to thin them again. Looks like we’ll have plenty of squashes this summer. I’m going to try my hand at frying zucchini blossoms, too.

Cucumbers need a helping hand keeping the bugs away.

Cucumbers need a helping hand keeping the bugs away.

Cucumbers aren’t doing as well. Some critter is nibbling leaves. Must figure out what kind of insecticide I can use that will chase away the pesky little things.

Wish I had room to plant a few rows of corn, and some peas. Yes, I think I sense another garden plot in the making for next year. English peas. Please.

I will keep you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em posted as progress at Keyboard Plantation continues. Y’all be ready to come help when it’s time to can tomatoes.

 

4 Responses to “Garden update”

  1. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Ok looks good but as Cleo would say get to chopping those weeds out of there
    and your daddy would say the same lol

  2. nannygrannie Says:

    Awesome! I heard I was supposed to cut the flowers off my tomato plants…makes them grow more tomatoes? Do you know if that’s true?

  3. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    I have no clue. I don’t ever remember doing it as a kid, so I’m going to say no. I HAVE been told to feed them either Tums or a weak solution of Epsom salts, to up the mineral content in the soil. As I have Tums, I’ll probably do that.

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    I thought you were a country girl. That’s not weeds — that’s some of the bermuda that didn’t get tilled up, and I defy you to get a hoe blade through it! Hopefully it’ll get tilled in this fall, and I won’t have this issue next year.


Leave a Reply

