You don’t say! And healthy, too?

March 22, 2016

Yeah, it's watery. Deal with it.

Yeah, it’s watery. Deal with it.

Forgive the atrocious photo above. I forgot to take a pic until I’d taken a couple of bites. Thus the plate is not so very attractive.

Let’s face it, this dish is not so very attractive. But it’s awfully doggoned good, which forgives a multitude of sins.

I will tweak to see if I can keep it from being so watery, but taste-wise, it’s well on its way to Sweet Baby Jesus territory. And, as long as you don’t mind some cheese (because, cheese!) it’s pretty healthy, too.

This is zucchini lasagna. Yes, another way to use the proliferation of zucchini with which those two vines will gift you this summer.  No longer do you have to sneak bags of it onto your neighbors’ porches in the dead of night. Hang with me, here, and I’ll give you a good way to use it.

You’ll need the following for an 8 x 8 pan of lasagna; more, natch, if you’re going to do a bigger dish.

  • Two medium zucchini, sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 4 oz mozzarella cheese, grated
  • 1-2 oz Parmigiano cheese, grated
  • 3 cups marinara sauce
  • olive oil, salt and pepper

First, slice up your zucchini lengthwise, into 1/4 inch thick slices. Unless you are GOOD with your knife, it’s best to do this on a mandoline. As my mandoline has a deadly sharp German steel blade, I opted for slicing my zucchini while wearing a potholder glove. Better I slice into the glove than my hide. Been there, done it. Not anxious to do it again.

Two zucchini gave me enough slices to do three layers in an 8 x 8. I could’ve gone four deep. Will likely do so next time.

Line the zucchini slices out on a cookie sheet, drizzle with olive oil, turn ’em over, drizzle ’em again, and stash them in the oven at 400. Roast them about 20 minutes.

Here is where I would deviate from what I did. I drained water off the zukes once during cooking — zucchini have a LOT of water in them. I would either put the zucchini on a rack and let it drain for a few minutes after roasting, or I’d transfer it to a colander and let it drain.

I commenced layering. You can use your favorite marinara. I used a pint jar of my home-canned roasted tomato-garlic sauce, plus a half-pint of regular tomato sauce, because you know, that tomato-garlic sauce has enough garlic to vampire-proof three counties. You’ve got to tone it down some.

Spray your dish with baking spray. This is not critical, but you will thank me when you’re ready to do dishes. Put about half a cup of sauce in the bottom. Top it with a layer of zucchini slices, a layer of mozzarella, a healthy sprinkle of parmigiano. Repeat through however much zucchini you have, finishing up with a scant layer of sauce and cheese.

Bake for  30-40 minutes at 400 or so.

People. This is good. Do it. If you felt like you absolutely had to have meat in your meal, you could brown some Italian sausage and chunk in a layer of that.

We had it with baked sweet potato fries and asparagus for a very vegetarian, very healthy, very good dinner.

You ‘n  y’mama ‘n ’em try this. Even if it’s watery, it’s good. I promise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

