Breakfast bounty

February 21, 2016

Latkes, et al. Good stuff.

Latkes, et al. Good stuff. 

Weekend?

House guest?

Sounds to me like a fine excuse for a good breakfast.

Which is exactly how I started off my Saturday: to-wit, with latkes, eggs and bacon.

I had my latkes two ways; one with a poached egg yolk atop it, and one with a combo of Greek yogurt and apple butter. I would be hard-pressed to say which was better. I do love me a latke permeated with runny egg yolk; but then again, my homemade apple butter….

A fine argument for keeping them relatively small and eating two, one in each style.

For good measure, long as I was latke-ing, I did several mini-latkes, which I put in a baggie and in the fridge, with plans to crisp up with another few minutes in the oven on Sunday morning, to have with creme fraiche and caviar for yet another excellent breakfast. I wound up with a fruit smoothie and yogurt, granola and fresh blueberries, instead. I have no complaints on that breakfast, either. Latkes and caviar will wait until perhaps tomorrow.

A quick lesson in latke- making, for those who may not have followed the blog long enough to have seen it before, and to include a tip on a fine addition to your kitchen accoutrements:

I peeled, and then grated in the food processor, half a dozen small Yukon Gold potatoes (one should use either YG’s or russets or another mealy potato for latke-making; redskins don’t work as well), and a medium sweet onion. Dumped that into a strainer lined with a dishtowel (see dishtowel note, below), which I then gathered up and squeezed/wrung about half-a-cup of liquid out of them. May not have been that much, but it was a lot of liquid. If you don’t do this, you’ll have to add too much crumb or flour thickening agent to your latkes to get them to hold together when you fry them, which will make them gummy.

These latkes, in fact, require no crumb/flour addition at all; just two beaten eggs and a goodly quantity of kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. I measured these out in quarter-cup scoops into hot oil in a non-stick frying pan and fried until they were golden on each side. The minis got a bit less than half that much latke “batter” each.

Dishtowel Note: If you are fortunate enough to have one of those “super Kroger” markets, which has a selection of non-grocery items about as large as, say, a Super Target does of groceries, check on their kitchenwares aisle. Mine carries three-packs of dishtowels which purport to be “flour sacks,” a relatively coarse/loose weave cotton cloth that’s sturdier and closer woven than cheesecloth.  They work admirably for straining/draining things you’re going to want to squeeze and get as much moisture as possible out of. They’re also excellent for draping over a pan of rising bread or rolls.

For good measure, here’s another breakfast I cooked one day last week when I was treating myself because I’d already done a couple of loads of laundry and finished a work project before breakfast, which was really more like brunch.

Poached egg yolks (I don’t LIKE egg whites, unless they’re beaten and used in something else, so I drain ’em off) over rye toast, with bacon and a tangerine. Breakfast of champions, it was.

I was well-breakfasted last week; that’s all there was to it. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come over one of these mornings, and we’ll have us a big ol’ brunch, complete with mimosas.

 

Leave a Reply

