H’mmm. Place looks familiar

February 14, 2016

Healthy food for dinner.

Healthy food for dinner.

I seem to recall my way around the kitchen.

Seems like I haven’t been in it in ages. A trip to New Orleans, four King cakes on Saturday, pancakes at church for Fat Tuesday. I don’t know that I remember Wednesday, on the road all day Thursday, left Friday to head to Mississippi for the weekend.

So, culinarily, the week was singularly unremarkable. I guess I cooked, but I’m doggoned if I remember what it was.

This afternoon, I got home and decided I needed to cook. So I did. Healthy stuff. Tilapia in lemon butter sauce. Sugar snap peas, steamed until they were just crisp-tender, butter and sea salt. Wild rice. Dinner was under 350 calories, too; a good thing, as I overate a couple of days. Steak-n-Shake availability at the new basketball arena at Ole Miss will do that to you.  Double steakburger, with cheese, and a small fry. They don’t sell singles, which I think is a plot to make us all fat.

Working on eating more veggies, thus the peas tonight. I fell a bit short in the veggie department this week. So I bought the peas, and broccoli, and cauliflower, and cabbage. I just haven’t had time to cook any of it yet.

This week promises to be a busy one, too, but I’m hoping I’ll get a little more kitchen time. I’ve got some things I want to try. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em stand by, and I’ll try to get to some of them this week.

 

2 Responses to “H’mmm. Place looks familiar”


  1. Looks so healthy!

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas

  2. cleavelin Says:

    Double steakburger, with cheese, and a small fry. They don’t sell singles, which I think is a plot to make us all fat.

    Nah. If it were a plot like that, they wouldn’t have let you get away with a small fry.

    More likely, Mississippians just don’t eat single cheeseburgers. 😉


Leave a Reply

