Les bon temps, they’re roulez-ing

February 2, 2016

Fresh King cake.

Fresh King cake.

Because, you know, Mardi Gras is coming. And I am going to New Orleans on Wednesday for a conference that ends on Friday, which will be the closest I have ever come to being in the Big Easy for Mardi Gras weekend.

And the conference hotel is on Bourbon Street. Oh, yeah, les bon temps are gonna be roulez-ing everywhere.

And me on a diet. (I have a feeling said diet is going to go by the wayside. Oh, well.)

But first, I had to make King cakes.

I made my first King cakes last year, and did one as a favor for a friend. Thanks to Facebook, the word spread, and this year, I’m up to four. I’ve already had two requests to be added to the King cake list next year. There is a point at which I’m going to have to cut the list off, else I’ll be baking the whole month of January.

My King cake recipe is here. I go pretty much by the recipe, but for the fact I cut the sugar in the dough from 3/4 to 1/2 cup. You add sugar in so many stages — in the dough, in the cream cheese filling, sprinkled over the surface before it’s rolled up, in the glaze, in the sprinkles — that it winds up being almost tooth-achingly sweet, which is why I rarely eat any of the King cakes I make.

So, anyway, two cakes are done. As the recipients of the other two are out of pocket until Saturday, I’ll wait and make theirs when I get back. And hopefully, they’ll be out of the house and not tempting me.

Meanwhile, of course, there’s Shrove Tuesday pancake supper at church on the Fat Tuesday. I suspect I’ll have a lot for which to repent by the time Ash Wednesday rolls around.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em forgive me in advance for all the good food I’m going to have, and how sky-high I’m going to blow this diet, OK?

 

Leave a Reply

