This stuff has possibilities…

January 25, 2016

Veggies in a glass. Works for me.

Veggies in a glass. Works for me.

Well, now. Once I tweak it a bit, this stuff may work.

I may have alluded to this new eating plan I’m on — I hesitate to call it a diet, because it really isn’t — which requires me to get two servings of fruit and three servings (a full cup each!) of veggies in every day. Given that I’m not a huge veggie eater outside of when I can get them fresh out of the garden, I was looking for ways to make that a bit easier.

I was chatting with a friend about the issue, and she mentioned she drank V8 juice to cover some of her veggie servings. Now, I like the taste of V8. I don’t like the price, and I don’t like all the additives they put in it.  I said to myself, “Self? Don’t you reckon we could make that stuff?” And Self said, “Well, I don’t see why not.”

So we set out. I Googled recipes, and got an idea of what wanted to go in it. Went to the grocery today, and got beets, spinach, parsley, and celery. Came home, got out a quart of home-canned tomatoes, dumped them in the blender. Steamed the beet and three chunked-up carrots until they were tender; added them, a big handful of spinach, about a quarter of that grocery store sized bunch of parsley, three chunked-up ribs of celery, a teaspoon of salt, and a tablespoon of worcestershire. Blended the heck out of it.

The verdict? Well, there are several:

  1. Too much parsley. I’ll cut the parsley at least in half next time. I don’t know that I’d miss it if I left it out.
  2. It’s thick. As thick as a regular smoothie-with-ice, almost. I might contemplate thinning it down with some tomato juice or vegetable broth next time.
  3. It has a noticeable texture. Addition of some more liquid and additional blending might fix that, as well.
  4. Wouldn’t hurt it to have a bit more Worcestershire. Maybe some Lawry’s seasoned salt.

But all in all, it’s pretty good. I do pretty much think I’m going to have to go with thinning it down to drink; I could strain it, but I don’t want to lose the benefits of the fiber. (Do you still get the benefit of the fiber if you blend it all to pieces? Surely you do…)

In any event, I’m gonna play with this stuff and see if I can get it the way I want it. Then I’ll let you ‘n y’mama n’ ’em try it, and we’ll see if it can tide us over until summer.

UPDATE: This morning, I dumped the quart jar back in the blender, added a cup of home-canned tomato juice, and let ‘er rip on liquefy for a few minutes. Then I strained it through a cheesecloth-lined strainer. Much better. Strained out/cut down some of the parsley flavor (though I’ll still use less next time). It’s a keeper!

 

 

2 Responses to “This stuff has possibilities…”

  1. Toy Lady Says:

    I wonder how it would be in a smoothie? (I’ve been known to enjoy a tomato smoothie now and then – a couple of frozen tomatoes, some salsa and a scoop of yogurt – delish!) I’d take your veg mixture, freeze it in muffin cups, then use a couple, plus a good scoop of yogurt and some actual juice – tomato or even maybe something sweet like pineapple – and hit them with a stick blender. . .

    I’ve got a baggie full of pureed fruit cups in the freezer, now I’ve gotta go get me some veggies to try it.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    That occurred to me. Would be good, particularly, in the summer. If it’s ever summer again.


Leave a Reply

