Some kinda soup

January 3, 2016

NOTE: This post has been hanging around in the “drafts” folder for a few weeks, at least since sometime before Christmas. You’re getting it today because I see little prospect of cooking anything today. Truth be told, I feel so rotten I see little prospect of eating anything today. Damn a sinus infection, anyway.

Soup. Good, solid, healthy, tasty bean soup.

Soup. Good, solid, healthy, tasty bean soup.

I can see the Instant Pot is going to enable even further my tendency to start out with a dish with no real idea where I’m going to end up.

I had been baking all day, and thus sampling and nibbling sweet stuff. I wanted savory. I wanted something that would stick to my ribs. I wanted something that would enable me to create a little room in the fridge.

I wanted soup.

I had beans in the fridge, the last of the Ojo de Cabra as well as a combo of Alubia Blanca and Domingo Rojo I’d cooked up for a salad that never got made. That would make a good start. Where to from there?

“Self?” I said, “You could get you some smoked sausage and dice it up and throw it in there, and it would be sorta like your bean and sausage soup.” And self and I agreed that was a good idea.

So I took a break in bread-baking and set about soup-making. Started as I do nearly every savory dish I make, sauteeing some chopped onion and garlic confit. To that I added four carrots, peeled and sliced 1/4 inch or so thick. Then I added a 12-oz link of beef smoked sausage, cut in quarter-inch slices, and let that start getting happy.

I pulled the two containers of beans out of the fridge…and spied a head of cabbage.

“H’mmmm,” I mused to self. “The bean and sausage soup calls for greens. I don’t like greens, so I don’t use ’em. But I like cabbage pretty good. How about some cabbage?” Self agreed that oughta fly, and reminded me to be sure and put in some extra black pepper, because cabbage likes black pepper.

So I sliced up half of a small head of cabbage (the rest will make slaw), and threw that in to saute. When it started to wilt pretty good, I added a cup of chicken broth and the beans, about three cups’ worth.

This is pretty doggoned respectable, though I believe you could cook Rancho Gordo beans with old shoes and they’d be good. It wanted a bit more salt, but that was OK, as I always find it easier to add salt than to take it out, and I wasn’t sure how salty the sausage was going to be. I could have added some herbs — a little sage and a little rosemary would not have gone amiss — but I really just wanted the savory goodness of the beans.

And that’s what I got. With a bonus of cabbage. Which is, of course, good for you.

For the Instant Pot owners out there, I sauteed the stuff in the pot then switched it over to soup and set it for 15 minutes. Natural steam release.

I feel kinda healthy.

Flavor was good. Didn’t need the extra salt. Cabbage cooked away to almost nothing; lent a little flavor, but I would have liked to have had a bit of texture. Maybe saute the cabbage separately, and stir it in at the last minute?

It made plenty. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em can have bean and sausage soup for lunch when you come help me finish Christmas goodie making.

 

Leave a Reply

