NYE fare and Christmas leftovers, Part IV

January 1, 2016

Quiche. A quite lovely quiche, at that. Ham, broccoli, Emmenthaler.

Quiche. A quite lovely quiche, at that. Ham, broccoli, Emmenthaler.

In the interest of getting rid of the bulk of the Christmas leftovers in the same year in which they were prepared, I repurposed the broccoli and some more of the ham for a quiche yesterday.

I was in egg mode. (I do love me a farm egg, and there’s a gracious plenty of sources for ’em in and around J’boro). So I settled on a quiche, which I’d not made in a while. Truthfully, a long while, as I’d been making mostly frittatas, which are almost all egg and little dairy, and I decided this time I wanted a more traditional quiche, which is heavier on the dairy with fewer eggs.

And, as is my practice, I didn’t want a crust. Because I see little point in them. I’d rather use crusts for something in which the crust will be appreciated, like, say, a chicken pot pie. In a quiche, a crust is secondary. Why not just forget it? So I do,  as a matter of practice.

I beat together three eggs, a half-cup of milk, and a cup of heavy whipping cream. Hey, we ain’t talking low-cal and low-fat, here. Deal with it. I stirred into it a cup and a half of grated Emmenthaler cheese (can I just tell you I love the cheese counter at Kroger, and could easily spend myself into bankruptcy there?). Added a bit of freshly ground pepper. Set that aside.

Chopped up the leftover broccoli. Quit when I got to a cup, and tossed the rest. Sue me. Chopped up some leftover ham, about 2/3 of a cup.

Gave the egg/cheese mixture a stir, and put about half of it in the bottom of my deep-dish pie dish., which I’d sprayed with canola spray. Sprinkled on a combo of the broccoli and ham. Added the remaining filling. Topped with a sprinkle of grated parmigiano.

BTW. The aforementioned Kroger sells grated Parmigiano for the same price as parmigiano in the block. My mama didn’t raise no fool. I buy the grated.

I baked it for about 50 minutes at 350. The center still jiggled a bit, as it should. Took it out and let it cool atop a rack to room temp before I cut a slice. Which I have still not done, because? When I went out errand-running (returning things, post office, bank, etc.), I called Child A to see if she wanted lunch. She wanted bean burritos from Taco Bell. And while I was in the drive-up lane, I decided I’d make my once-every-five-years-or-so pilgrimage into fake Mexican fast food, and ordered two crunchy tacos, the only thing there I’ll eat.

And I learned they no longer automatically give you taco sauce. You have to ask for it. Which I, having not been to Taco Hell in five years or more, did not do. Dammit. Anyway, I ate sauce-less tacos instead of quiche. Still got that for today.

That’s about it for the Christmas leftovers, other than the sweets, which we’ll eat on until we get sick of ’em, and then chunk ’em. Not a lot of repurposing pecan pie or lemon pie or coconut cake. Although there IS still leftover mac and cheese, and I’m contemplating making fritters, coating them in crumbs, and frying. That may be a side to today’s black eyed peas later on.

In any event, there’s still plenty for you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em to sample, should you want to stop on by.

Beer candied bacon. Best thing out there. Fig and olive tapenade ain't bad, either.

Beer candied bacon. Best thing out there. Fig and olive tapenade ain’t bad, either.

There is even, though I don’t know that I’ll share it, some beer-candied bacon left over from last night. New Years and Super Bowl weekend are two weekends I will go all-out on snacky foods and forego real meals, and that’s what I did while watching, first, Clemson and Oklahoma and later Bama and Michigan State.  Earlier in the day, I’d made some fig and olive tapenade, and baked a couple of small baguettes. I sliced once of those, spread the slices with some cream cheese (thought I had brie, couldn’t find it), and topped with the tapenade. Quite excellent.

To make the tapenade, chop up about a half-cup of green olives, a half-cup of kalamata olives, a half-cup of California black olives, and 1 cup dried figs, along with a couple of tablespoons of capers. Mix all that with some good olive oil — I used a Tuscan herb infused one — and some good balsamic vinegar. You can add herbs if you wish; I’ve used rosemary and tarragon to good effect, but since the oil was herb-infused, I left them out this time. Overall, since I used a fig-infused balsamic, the whole thing was a bit sweet; I may yet add a small splash of regular vinegar.

This is really good stuff on a crostini spread with goat cheese or brie, but it ain’t half bad with cream cheese, either.

The beer candied bacon is simple, and wonderful. Stir up equal parts brown sugar and beer in a small bowl. Put bacon strips on a rack over a foil-lined pan. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes or so, turning and brushing with beer/sugar mixture every five minutes. Be sure and pull the strips up off the rack and stand them up on their sides, curved a bit so they’ll stand, or else they’ll stick to the rack.

This is Sweet Baby Jesus good stuff. I made 10 pieces because that’s what my pan will hold; three is about all I can eat at a time. I wrapped them accordion-style in waxed paper before slipping the whole thing in a plastic baggie to refrigerate; I’ll nuke a couple of slices at a time to eat later.

Today’s menu will include black-eyed pea cassoulet, turnip greens, cole slaw, maybe those fried mac-and-cheese fritters, and some scalloped pineapple, because I need to use the pineapple, and that stuff is good. We will not go hungry here at Chez Brockwell, and neither will you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em if you stop by.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

