Turkey redux

November 30, 2015

soup artDespite the surfeit of turkey, I have not eaten much leftover turkey here at Chez Brockwell since Thanksgiving. In fact, I froze one sizeable bag of white meat and one of sliced/pulled dark meat, along with a bag of legs and wings, keeping just one bag of white meat in the fridge.

And I made about 10 pints of stock with the carcass. Waste not, want not, and all that, not to mention homemade stock is so doggoned much better than what you buy.

Anyway, half the refrigerated bag went into a pot of soup one night last week. There are no photos, because, well, I forgot. Not that it was that photogenic, anyway. It was originally going to be tortilla soup, but when I went looking for canned corn to go in it — I didn’t want the cream factor of my frozen variety — I didn’t have any in the pantry.

But I did have hominy. And self, who is always lurking back there thinking about what to cook, said, “Ding-ding-ding! Posole!”

And posole it was.

Now, posole is normally made with chunks of pork shoulder, seared and then simmered in broth. I figured it ought to work Just Fine with diced up turkey breast. And indeed it did.

I acquired this posole recipe from a participant in one of the food forums (foraa?) I frequent. I tried it, and would have offered to marry him on the spot for it, but for the fact he noted he got it from his mother-in-law. Not wanting to solicit a felony offense, I passed on the matrimony and kept the recipe.

In short, you do the following:

  • Sear a couple of pounds of cubed, salted and peppered pork shoulder in a Dutch oven; remove and set aside.
  • Saute a diced onion and several cloves of garlic in the same Dutch oven, same fat. Add a tablespoon of ancho chile powder, some diced chipotle chiles in adobo (how much depends on your heat tolerance) and some sliced jalapenos. Saute that a while.
  • Add a single 14-ounce can of diced tomatoes
  • Put the pork back in
  • Add two pints of chicken broth
  • Add a 29-ounce can of hominy, drained
  • Simmer an hour, taste, add salt and other seasonings as needed, and simmer until the pork is fall-apart tender

What I did was:

  • Eliminate the chipotle (a) because I didn’t have any, and (b) I didn’t want it screamin’ hot
  • Eliminate the jalapenos because I just flat don’t like ’em
  • Add a can of diced mild green chiles
  • Sub the diced turkey for uncooked pork, added at the same time I added the hominy

I guess I simmered it for an hour or an hour and a half. It was, all in all, a most fitting use for leftover turkey. Would have worked well for the dark meat, had I not already stashed it in the freezer, but the white did well. I had diced it up in about half-inch diced, and it cooked into shreds, which was nice.

I got lots left I guess I will put in containers and freeze. If you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em want some good soup for these cold, wet days, let me know.

 

One Response to “Turkey redux”

  1. cleavelin Says:

    I acquired this posole recipe from a participant in one of the food forums (foraa?) I frequent.

    “Forums” is the correct English plural. “Fora” is the correct Latin plural. 🙂


Leave a Reply

