Let there be breakfast!

November 29, 2015

Dutch baby, with trimmings (peach butter and ricotta cheese)

Dutch baby, with trimmings (peach butter and ricotta cheese)

There’s something about a grey, rainy weekend morning that makes you want a good breakfast.

Going out to get same is out of the question; see above, grey and rainy, plus add cold, plus add I would have had to get out of my PJ’s, something I did not do all day (and I am not ashamed to say it). So I decided to make my own.

I contemplated latkes, but that was a bit more work than I wanted to undertake. I thought about biscuits, and that didn’t hit the spot. And then I thought, “Self? Why don’t you make you a Dutch baby, and fill it with something tasty?”

Self agreed that would be a fine idea, so that’s what we did. I cut my Dutch baby recipe in half, which still makes more than I want to eat, but this is something that does not hold well. The recipe, which would work nicely for most people (but I’m on this small-portion kick these days) is:

  • 2 eggs, room temp
  • 1/3 cup milk, room temp
  • 1/3 cup a/p flour, room temp
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp butter

Put an 8-inch iron skillet in the oven with the butter. In a blender, beat the eggs until they’re light and frothy; add the milk, flour and seasoning. Batter will be thin.

When the butter has melted — I like to wait until it’s starting to brown — pour the batter into the skillet. It works better if you pour it sort of swirled around in the skillet, as opposed to in the center and letting it spread, because the excess butter runs up on top and you may have a problem with the Dutch baby sticking if you pour it all in the middle. Slide the skillet back in the oven and bake the pancake for about 15-20 minutes, depending on your oven. You want it to start to brown just a bit on top.

It puffs up tall, like a Yorkshire pudding, and then tends to fall back, leaving a nice rim, and begging to be filled with something.

I slid mine out onto a plate, then spread peach butter on it, a wide streak down the center, and then spooned some ricotta on top; folded both sides over the middle, and dug in. It was good, but the cheese was a bit bland; it would have benefitted from a stronger flavored cheese, maybe a queso fresco, or a brie, or even grated smoked Gouda. It’s also occurred to me that it might be nice to sprinkle a little bit of gorgonzola on it just before it’s done, and then drizzling it with honey and topping it with some fresh sliced pears.

It’s an easy, and impressive, breakfast or brunch dish to serve guests. You can double the recipe (but just use three eggs) and make it in a 10-inch skillet, and cut it into portions, if you wish. You can make it savory or sweet. The first one I made, you may recall, I sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and used the same peach butter on it, and it was quite excellent. I think an entirely savory one would be good, as well.

And I expect they’d be much improved by a pitcher of mimosas or some tall mugs of Irish coffee. You ‘n y’mama come over one of these cold mornings and we’ll experiment at that and see.

 

Leave a Reply

