The marathon begins!

November 23, 2015

ThanksgivingTipsIt is the Monday before Thanksgiving, which means it’s time to start cooking for Thursday’s dinner, which you will remember must be held near midday so Child C and SIL 2 can hit Wal-Mart at 6, which requires being in line significantly earlier than that, to score a TV.

Better them than me. The grandchild and I will stay here at the house and watch football and Christmas movies, or go see the new Disney dinosaur movie, thankyouverymuch.

Anyway, what that means is I need to get my cooking on, starting today.

On today’s agenda: Make the cranberry salad. Make the cornbread for the dressing. Make the white chocolate cherry cheesecake, since SIL suggested cherry cheesecake when I asked what we wanted for dessert this year. Make a liquor store run, and dash to the grocery store to get the stuff I forgot last week. Go get extra eggs, because, well, you always need more eggs than you think you will. Ditto butter.

Tomorrow: Make up the dressing and the sweet potato casserole and stash them in the fridge for baking Thursday. Or bake them earlier and reheat them Thursday to save time (not a bad idea).  Make the broccoli salad and stash it in the fridge as well. Make the curry dip to spread on leftover turkey sandwiches. Make a couple of loaves of bread for turkey sandwiches.

Wednesday: Road trip to pick up the turkey, as well as some chickens and some White River caviar at the fish market, since they’re all in the same general direction. Come home and brine the turkey. Make up roll dough to rise in the fridge. Set some chicken broth out to thaw for gravy the next day. Set corn out to thaw for corn casserole.

Thursday: Get up at oh-early-thirty. Roast the turkey. I would prefer to roast it a day early to free up the oven, but since I can’t get it until Wednesday and it needs to brine, I’ll wait. While it’s roasting, pull out the roll dough and form the rolls, so they have plenty of time to rise.  When the bird comes out, set it aside and start baking other dressing and sweet potatoes. Meanwhile, peel and boil potatoes for mashed potatoes; make up the corn casserole. Bake the corn casserole and the rolls together.

(Someday, Lord, when I have my dream kitchen, I will have two ovens and a warming oven. And a big ol’ six-burner rangetop. I will, I will, I will.)

If the turkey goes in at 6:30, it’s out at 9:30. Sweet potatoes and dressing can go in immediately after that, for about an hour, so they’re out at 10:30. Corn casserole can go in at 10:30, come out at 11:30, during which time the potatoes can be mashed; rolls can be added in at 11:15, cook until 11:45, and come out piping hot for the table. Somewhere in there, make gravy.

Note to self: Do NOT forget to get broccoli salad and cranberry salad out of fridge. Second note to self: Don’t forget there’s that cherry cheesecake, which you will have to eat for a delayed dessert, because you sure won’t be able to eat it after dinner.

I may make a flow chart and post it on the fridge.

It appears we might have a leftover or two. If you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em find yourselves at loose ends Thursday or over the weekend, come on by. We will NOT send you away hungry.

2 Responses to “The marathon begins!”

  1. Cindy Says:

    I always post a menu in a large font with generous spacing on the fridge. I write notes on it as things progress. If it’s a really big event I may even print a timeline.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Fortunately, it’s not a huge crowd — only four adults and a child, and I am making entirely too much food — but I can’t help it. I love Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

