Busy-day dinner

November 10, 2015

Thirty-minute dinner, right here.

Thirty-minute dinner, right here.

Sometimes, a day just swarms on you. Jumps goofy. Goes to hell in a handbasket.

Mine did, yesterday, with poor time management screwing up the first part of it and an unexpected call to be emergency childcare changing plans for the last, and today as well. So I found myself getting back home at almost 6, with dinner still to fix.

There are two easy fixes to this problem of how to get a quick protein ready to go as the centerpiece of a meal: Stop and pick up a rotisserie chicken at the grocery, or stop and pick up a pound of barbecue at the local barbecue joint.

I opted for the barbecue, because I had sweet potatoes, and that meant I could have sweet potato and barbecue hash. So that’s what I did.

I peeled and diced some sweet potatoes, heated some oil in a skillet, and sprinkled them down with barbecue spice. Let them saute until they were done. Added about half a pound of chopped pork barbecue and let it heat until it got warm. Boom. Done. 30 minutes, start to finish.

Meanwhile, I’d grabbed a pint of frozen corn from the freezer, thawed it in the microwave, and mixed it with a couple of eggs, some milk, some salt and pepper, and some masarepa, or pre-cooked corn flour. Fried that in another skillet, and had some arepas.

Sweet potato and barbecue hash, snuggled up next to a couple of arepas, with a drizzle of barbecue sauce. Yes, please. I believe I will. And I think I may have the leftovers for lunch today, with a fried egg on top.

Elsewhere in the wider world, I am overly excited about lunch on Thursday, which is the annual Marion United Methodist Church Turkey Dinner, which is one of the social events of the season, and one which I am most anxious to attend. It’s a classic, with turkey, dressing, green beans, sweet potatoes, cranberry relish and Miss Mary Lloyd’s rolls, of which I have waxed eloquent many a time on here. Not to mention getting to see everyone in the world, at least the part of it that centers on Marion.

I am also of the notion that I want to make an apple pie with a streusel topping. Not sure why. Just because. Haven’t made one for ages, and it just seems like the right thing to do. Perhaps today will find me doing that. Also must consider what I plan to fix for dinner, which I have not thought about. I want something different, and I have no idea what that might be.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em got any ideas?

mjk

\k

u\\jju

i                         nhjhhhjvvv bvvvvvvvvvvvbv bv
?’/,k’;k;;kllk
k

Note: The above was added by Amazing Grandchild 2, who took over the laptop when I got up to get a cup of coffee. I thought it was creative enough to leave in.

 

4 Responses to “Busy-day dinner”

  1. Cindy Says:

    No dinner suggestions but happy to email a good Dutch apple pie recipe if you would like.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Sure — send it on!

  3. cleavelin Says:

    Note: The above was added by Amazing Grandchild 2, who took over the laptop when I got up to get a cup of coffee. I thought it was creative enough to leave in.

    That’s a relief. For a second I thought you’d gotten another cat, and with my allergies that might mean I’d have to resign my position as Memphis Guinea Pig. 😉

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Well, Lucy has been known to type from time to time. Although she tends more toward closing pages inadvertently.


Leave a Reply

