And then, a simple, cheap, easy breakfast

November 2, 2015

Yum. Good stuff, right here, with lots of options.

Yum. Good stuff, right here, with lots of options.

All my life, I’ve heard of Dutch Baby pancakes. Never made one. Never tasted one, in point of fact.

Now I have.

I ran across a recipe recently for a savory Dutch baby, one with Parmigiano cheese and thyme, to serve with drinks or as an hors d’ouevre. Which sounded good, and which also got me thinking about making a sweet one for breakfast.

The Memphis guinea pig was in town. I needed a simple and easy Sunday breakfast I could fix while I was in the process of getting ready for church, which requires a shower and all such. I thought about making waffles, which does not fit the “give me time to take a shower” criterion, and besides, I didn’t have enough milk.

So I thought to myself, “Self? Why don’t you try a Dutch baby?” And self agreed that was a respectable idea.

So we set about it. The recipe I used is this one, with the proviso that I upped both the flour and the milk and added an extra egg, on the basis that I wanted to be sure there was plenty. And instead of lemon sugar, I used cinnamon sugar, because I had it.

Melted butter in the big iron skillet, whipped up batter in the blender. Poured B into A, and set it to bake, 375 for 30 minutes. It puffed up mightily, then dropped back down when I took it out of the oven. I sprinkled it down with a bit more cinnamon sugar, cut it in quarters, spread it with peach butter, and we set about demolishing it. With copious quantities of bacon on the side.

I started out thinking it was pretty decent, if not remarkable. It was thinking about being crispy on the bottom, with a faint savory hint from the browned butter, and not too sweet. By halfway through the first quarter, I’d decided it was really pretty good. Creamy in the middle. Tender. And by the time I finished that piece, I was just pretty set that I’d be making this again. I can see all sorts of permutations for it, including that savory version.

What I really want to do is to take one out of the skillet whole, fill it with some ricotta cheese and a not-too-sweet fruity thing, and roll it up like it was a big ol’ crepe. That would serve quite well with the peach butter, in fact. I could also see doing it with a barely sweetened blackberry compote. I could see doing it with chopped up tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. I could see proscuitto and grated gruyere. I could see good bacon and poached eggs.

Best of all, it requires nothing you likely don’t have in your pantry or fridge already, unless you are like me and at present without eggs or milk because you used the last of each today, and it will stretch to let you put just about anything in it as a key element for flavor.

You ‘n y’mama try you a Dutch baby. I really hate that I waited this long to do so.

Leave a Reply

