Finishing off the carb hat trick

September 17, 2015

Yet another new adventure. English muffins!

Yet another new adventure. English muffins!

Aaaannnnddd, today (well, actually, it was yesterday, but I just got the photos downloaded) we have — English muffins!

Pretty doggoned decent English muffins, as a matter of fact. And as with bagels, they’re easier to make than they have any right to be.

I had just about set my mind to bagels when I ran across a post on a food forum I frequent regarding English muffins. One of the posters who’s a major bread baker recommended this recipe, which she said turned out some primo muffins.

I would agree.

The dough goes together very easily, and with a minimum of fuss, as you don’t even fool with kneading it and just leave it in the bowl on the countertop, covered, overnight. The next day, you sprinkle it with a bit more flour, turn it out on a floured surface, sprinkle the other side, and roll it out to about 1/4 inch thick. You’ll want to flour your rolling pin, too, as the dough will be sticky.

You cut out your muffins, put them on a greased baking sheet to rise, gather the scraps, knead them up and roll and cut out again. I got 10 3 1/2 inch muffins out of the recipe. They turned out in varying heights, with the first roll-out rising better after being cut out than the more-kneaded second batch. They rise for an hour, though mine took a bit longer, and then they “bake” on a stovetop griddle.

The recipe would have you use an electric griddle, which is fine, if you have one. I don’t. I checked, and 300 on an electric griddle equals about medium on your stovetop. I have a steel grill pan I use for lots of things, and I got that out; it accommodated 5 muffins at a time.

The grill pan gets sprayed with cooking spray, and some cornmeal sprinkled on it, and then the muffins gently laid down and left for 10 minutes or so. Then you flip them, and leave them for another 10 minutes. I’ve seen recipes that called for using a batter and pouring it into English muffin rings on a griddle; I like this better.

A fine, fine breakfast.

A fine, fine breakfast.

The taste is excellent, and they’re nice and light. I just had one toasted, with butter and honey. My one quibble is that they don’t have the big holes and crevices in the muffin into which the butter and honey can run. I don’t know why. The picture with the post that had the recipe link had them. I had thought I might lose the airy crumb when I kneaded up the scraps, but I cut one from both batches, and it looked the same in each. Perhaps I beat the dough too much; it calls for just one minute, and then stir in the additional flour.

In any event, they’ll make a fine outside for a breakfast sammich for Amazing Grandchild 1, who will be getting here this afternoon for a few days. I have fruit, chicken nuggets, and sandwich makings, as well as all sorts of breakfast goodies and plenty of milk, so she should do just fine.

And in the event you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come by, we’ll fix you up an English muffin or a bagel. Or a sandwich. All on good, homemade breads.

 

Leave a Reply

