Summer salad goodness

September 2, 2015

Off the top, I don’t have a photo of this. It’s not photogenic. It kinda looks like the cat threw it up. But it’s pretty good, and once I make a couple of alterations to what’s left of it, it’ll be pretty excellent.

I was coming off a couple of days of moderately queasy stomach, no doubt aggravated by a high-calorie, high-cholesterol, chock-full-o-grease breakfast splurge at Waffle House after a successful doc checkup/visit. And about noon today, I got hit with the fact I was about to starve, due in large part to the fact I had eaten next to nothing since said splurge more than 24 hours earlier. (Next to nothing constituting a handful of popcorn crackers and some candied peanuts last night, and granola and yogurt this morning.

I didn’t want a sandwich. I wanted something light. Something fresh. I didn’t want any of the copious leftovers I had in the fridge.

So I lit on a couple of avocados I’d forgotten to use Sunday, that needed to be used, and a tomato that was easing past its prime. I had a few ears of corn I’d bought Monday at the grocery. I pulled a couple of cucumbers out of the fridge. That was a start.

I started out thinking of a vaguely Greek treatment — olive oil, wine vinegar, some olives. But as I was cutting up the avocados, I decided to go more Latin in scope.

I nuked an ear of corn, husked it, and cut off the kernels. Roughy diced up and seeded a tomato. Use both the avocados, which were still good today but likely would not have been tomorrow. Peeled, seeded and diced the cucumbers.

I had doused the veggies with a bit of lime juice to keep the avocado from turning dark on me. I thought about an oil addition, opted for some Greek yogurt instead, with some pimenton de la vera and pimenton dulce for flavor. Tasted.

Too lime-y. Added some salt and sprinkled with a bit of cotija cheese. Pretty good!

It lacks a note of richness, and I’ll add that by stirring in a tablespoon or two of mayo before I have a second go at it tonight or tomorrow. And the corn kernels really pop with sweet against the lime background, and I have two ears left, so I’ll probably add both of those, which will be more corn than it wants, but that’s ok, because? There is no such thing as too much corn.

I had it with watermelon, which was quite excellent, and I think I may go back and get some more watermelon, so I can credit myself with cleaning out the fridge, which is abysmal right now.

Anyway. It’s a nice little lunch salad that could make a dinner side dish, and I figured I’d pass it along to you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em. It beats buying avocados, letting them sit on the countertop for a week, and then chunking them.

 

Leave a Reply

