An answer for zucchini overload

July 4, 2015

Do this. You'll be glad you did.

Do this. You’ll be glad you did.

If you’re one of those who has to resort to steathily leaving bags of zucchini on neighbors’ porches because the only way your zucchini knows how to produce is like it’s on speed and steroids simultaneously, here’s a way to use up some of it.

I did this last night on a whim to go with our Fourth of July dinner (on the third), and to use up the last of the fresh corn before I restocked today at the Farmers’ Market. It would have gone nicely on the grill had I been grilling the pork loin to go along with it, but weather pre-empted that.

I cut the kernels off four ears of corn, cutting as close to the base of the kernel as possible (like for whole kernel corn). When I cut corn off for most purposes, I just cut the tops off the kernels, and then scrape the cobs with the back side of my knife to get the “milk” all out, but for this, I wanted whole kernel.

Four ears made about a cup and a half of kernels. Put those in a bowl and added about half a cup of sour cream, half a cup of grated cheddar, a little lime juice, and sprinkled in some seasoned salt, cumin, ancho chile powder and smoked paprika.

I took three medium zucchini (should have used four, but three was all I had), and cut them in half lengthwise. Using a paring knife and a spoon, I hollowed them out so they looked like little canoes. Piled the corn mixture into them, then sprinkled the whole thing with grated Parmigiano. Baked them at 375 for about 15-20 minutes.

Good stuff, this.

Pork loin. Yum.

Pork loin. Yum.

The pork loin missed the mark just a bit. I’d sous vided it at 125 degrees for 24 hours to tenderize it, and then stuck it in the fridge overnight. I put it in a roasting pan, coated it down with chipotle honey butter, and put it in the oven at 375 for about 30 minutes. Should have left it a bit longer, or turned the oven up a touch; it was just shy of being as done as I like it. Easier to rescue from not done enough than it is from too done, though. It’ll reappear in several forms in upcoming days.

Too many veggies? No such thing.

Too many veggies? No such thing.

I also may perhaps have overloaded at the Farmers Market this morning. But they had such wonderful stuff….crowder peas, pink eye peas, sweet corn, okra, tomatoes, peaches, yellow squash, more zucchini. And my first cinnamon rolls of the season from the Amish family. Rather proud of myself for holding off this long.

And it was my Saturday to work at the soup kitchen, where, since it was Fourth of July, we decided to go with burgers, hot dogs, baked beans and potato salad. My contribution was a vat of potato salad. We didn’t have a lot of people — guess they figured that with the holiday, we might not be, serving — but the ones who came enjoyed it. We took the leftovers to the Salvation Army, where they’ll be dinner tonight for the folks staying there.

A happy and safe Fourth of July to you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em.

 

Leave a Reply

