Let there be breakfast

July 1, 2015

A breakfast that'll stay with you, this one is.

A breakfast that’ll stay with you, this one is.

There is nothing out of the ordinary about this breakfast, but for the fact I ate it at my house on a Wednesday, which is not a day I generally cook a big breakfast. But I had a house guest last night, so I figured I’d feed her a good breakfast before she headed back home.

That would be after a pretty good dinner last night, which was after I’d gone to the farmers’ market, which made up for not going to the farmers’ market on Saturday because I wasn’t here. And there were watermelons and cantaloupes, both quite excellent; there were the first purple hulled peas of the season (so I gave Kate the two bags of frozen ones I had left); there was lots of sweet corn. So we had a veggie dinner of sweet corn, purple hulled peas with tomato relish, zucchini fritters, sliced tomatoes, canteloupe and watermelon. With a blackberry cobbler for dessert. And no pictures, because by the time I’d cooked we were starving and I did not take time.

Have I mentioned that I love this time of year?

If I could just get Kentucky Wonder pole beans and Silver Queen white sweet corn. Oh, well, I have not yet given up on either one, and there’s a good bit of summer left.

Got an absolutely wonderful cantaloupe at the market. Big thing. Very sweet. Very tasty. And it was all of a buck. Guy had watermelons for $5, and I wish I’d bought one of those, but I didn’t, and then wound up buying one of those little plastic tubs of watermelon chunks at the grocery for $4. If he’s there Saturday, I’ll get one.

I’d contemplated going to pick blackberries today, and will likely regret that I did not, being that it’s not too suffering hot today.  I may go Saturday or Sunday, depending on what all the holiday schedule involves. I want to make some blackberry jam and freeze some berries as well. Thought I might take Amazing Grandchild 2 up there — berry picking ought to be lots of fun for an about-to-be-3 boy. And, well, blackberry jam.

It’s about to be “puttin’ up” time. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em bring your jars and come on over.

 

Leave a Reply

