Nothing succeeds like excess

June 6, 2015

Too many blueberries? Naaaahhhhh....

Too many blueberries? Naaaahhhhh….

Those of you who know me know that moderation, in much of anything, is not one of my virtues.

That said, I may have possibly — just POSSIBLY, mind you — put a few too many blueberries in these blueberry muffins.

But they were the very first fresh blueberries of the season. And they were SO very good.

I brought a quart of these babies home from the Farmers’ Market this morning, and I was happily breakfasting on blueberry muffins, complete with an absolutely unhealthy amount of melted butter, by 9 a.m.  So I reckon these berries were likely less than 24 hours off the bush.

I used my favorite, go-to muffin recipe, which adapts itself marvelously to most any kind of fruit, the original Peabody Hotel vanilla muffin recipe. When you get them at the Peabody, they’re the size of a softball, with little caramelized crystals of sugar on top. I love them with almond extract and poppy seed, and my second favorite use for them is as a vehicle for fresh blueberries.

Without further ado, the recipe:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 stick butter, melted
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

Prep is simplicity itself. Stir the dry stuff together. Add the wet stuff. Stir it up, just enough to moisten everything and get rid of the biggest lumps.

Then you can fold in whatever add-ins you wish. (Can I just tell you, chunks of banana and Reese’s Pieces make a to-die-for muffin.) I probably used close to two cups of blueberries, and that was probably too much, though I’m not sure you can use the phrase “too much” within the same sentence as “blueberries” and make any sense at all.

This will make 12 good-sized muffins. And they’ll make you happy, or at least the two I ate for breakfast did so for me.

The market haul for today. I love summer.

The market haul for today. I love summer.

Things are really coming in at the Farmers’ Market now, although I’m saddened to report my favorite asparagus vendor, Keith from Whitton Farms, says it’s probably the last week for asparagus. Sigh. So I got one last bunch, along with green beans, cucumbers, green onions, radishes, eggs, romaine lettuce, ripe tomatoes, green tomatoes and new potatoes. Passed up zucchini and yellow squash, since I still had some in the fridge. Also passed on peaches, as I was out of cash and didn’t feel like going to the ATM and coming back. I can go back Tuesday and get peaches.

Won’t be long until things are REALLY rolling out there, with okra and peas and corn just around the corner, and that is when meat becomes superfluous and we eat veggies here at Chez Brockwell.  I am thinking there may be green beans and new potatoes on tap tonight, along with squash casserole and this chicken dish I’m contemplating.

And the rest of those blueberries? I think if I mix the muffin batter a little thinner, it’ll make an exceptional blueberry cobbler. Which will hold me until I get peaches and make a peach cobbler.

Godamighty, I love this time of year.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em want a blueberry muffin, come on by. I’ve got 10 left out of that dozen.

 

4 Responses to “Nothing succeeds like excess”

  1. cleavelin Says:

    …my favorite asparagus vendor, Keith from Whitton Farms…

    1) They are also at MFM. Didn’t know they came up to Jonesboro, too.

    2) Keith and his wife Jill are also owners of the Trolley Stop Market, in case you didn’t know.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Also owners of Tyboogie’s Cafe in Tyronza.

  3. cleavelin Says:

    I recall hearing that. Never had any reason to go to Tyronza. Just past, on my way to J’boro. 🙂

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    It is also the home of the Southern Tenant Farmers’ Union museum.


Leave a Reply

