A fine thing to do with asparagus

May 16, 2015

Asparagus and egg; a match made in heaven.

Asparagus and egg; a match made in heaven.

I continue to do fun things with asparagus.

Shut UP. I am not being perverse. I am enjoying the prime fruit of spring in as many ways as I can manage to do so, before it’s gone for another year.

So far this spring, I’ve had asparagus wrapped in proscuitto; roasted asparagus; steamed asparagus and sauteed asparagus, the three above both with and without hollandaise; asparagus in a frittata (I don’t think that one made the blog, but it was good), asparagus in a pasta, and asparagus in a salad.

And I’ve had asparagus in one of the simplest ways possible, which is to say, cooked somehow, and topped with a fried egg. Which, in my case, is a fried egg yolk, because I want the good stuff. Forget all that healthy egg white.

I had a bit of leftover asparagus from t’other night when Child A did not want dinner. So I put it on a plate and nuked it for 20 seconds, enough to heat it back up but not to cook it any more. You could use any kind of cooking method for this, should you not be fortunate enough to have a few leftover spears, as I generally do not, because I’ll usually eat all that I cook.

I had read about a technique for poaching eggs, which involved straining some of the egg white through a slotted spoon to get rid of it. You see, there are really two separate iterations of egg white in every egg; there’s the primary egg white, which is that big glop of it that clings together in a solid blob when you’re trying to separate the eggs, and there’s the secondary white, which is much less cohesive. Michael Ruhlman, in his Egg cookbook, would have you crack your egg into a dish, then pour it into a slotted spoon for the secondary white to drain off before you poach it, which will give you a nice compact little poached egg, as opposed to all the fly-aways  of egg white in normal poaching.

I was going to try to poach my inaugural egg, as I have never done such before, but at the last minute decided against it. I would fry the egg instead, because I KNOW how to fry an egg and I have made it to damn near 60 without ever trying to poach one.

So I decided to just separate the egg, figuring the secondary white would drain away, and I’d have less of the white I don’t like.

Wrong. The big blob of primary white drains away, leaving you with a bit of secondary white surrounding the yolk. Huh. Who’d’a thunk it?

So I fried the yolk, very gently, because it would be tremendously easy to break that sucker. And I triumphed.

Plopped it onto my warmed spears of asparagus (I think this had been steamed briefly and finished in butter), added two slices of bacon, and it was a most excellent lunch.

Plus, I have bacon for a BLT tonight.

H’mm. I wonder how asparagus would be on a BLT? I betcha it’d be fine. Probably just about Sweet Baby Jesus, which this leftover lunch certainly was.

You want proof God has a warped sense of humor? Asparagus. Most marvelous vegetable on the planet, and it’s in season for about six weeks.

There’s still fresh asparagus out there. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em get you some, while it’s still here. You’ll regret it if you don’t.

 

2 Responses to “A fine thing to do with asparagus”

  1. cleavelin Says:

    “…asparagus in a frittata (I don’t think that one made the blog, but it was good)”.

    I’m pretty sure it didn’t make the blog; I’m interested in trying a frittata sometime soon and I’d have noted it if you had blogged it.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Frittatas are big-time easy, particularly for those of us who are omelet-challenged. I made just a little two-egg one in a baking dish with some asparagus one day.


Leave a Reply

