Baking, just a little off-kilter

May 13, 2015

Breakfast. Bacon, eggs, cheese bread. Needs coffee.

Breakfast. Bacon, eggs, cheese bread. Needs coffee.

I spent much of yesterday in the kitchen baking. Because I could, and I was in the notion. Even if things didn’t go exactly as I’d planned.

I had a quarter of a recipe of bread dough in the fridge that wanted to be used, so I decided to put some of that good farm-made country sausage to work and make some breakfast hand pies. So I got it out and divided it into eight equal balls, and contemplated where to go from there.

These would be something like a kolache. So I browned up the pound of sausage that was chillin’ in the fridge, and set it aside to drain while I contemplated whether to boil and chop, or scramble, the eggs. Scrambling won. So I did that, dumped them in a mixing bowl with the drained sausage, and for good measure, grated 4 ounces of extra sharp cheddar in with them. Stirred that up.

In progress. Dough was a little soft, but finished product is good.

In progress. Dough was a little soft, but finished product is good.

Said to myself, “Self? You’ve got way more filling than you’ve got dough to put it in.” Self agreed, but allowed there wasn’t much we could do about that, not at this stage of the game. So we carried on with making the hand pies, which were a tad irregular since the dough was a little bit softer than would be ideal. And I forgot to brush the tops with an egg wash, which resulted in floury tops on the pies.

But they taste good, and they’ll make good breakfasts later on this week.

So then I turned to the remaining sausage/egg/cheese mixture. I contemplated it and thought, “Muffins.” And self repeated, “Muffins. Yes, muffins.” And we agreed we were quite smart.

Muffins are just hard to beat.

Muffins are just hard to beat.

So I dumped some Bisquick, because I was being lazy, on top of it, poured in some milk, added some more Bisquick because I got too much milk. Stirred that up, put it in muffin tins, and baked it.

They’re quite acceptable. I hope they freeze well.

And then I tackled what I’d been planning to do to start with, before I got sidetracked — Strawberries and Cream Bread.

The idea of this is really good; a lightly sweet quickbread that includes lots of bits of diced strawberries. And the taste is good, and I’ll use that basic recipe for lots of sweet breads in the future. But the diced, fresh strawberries are so juicy that they created little soggy pockets all through the bread surrounding the fruit, which mostly sank to the bottom half of the loaf.

I am not willing to write this one off. I think if one pureed the strawberries and folded them in, it would work much better. I’ll try that next time. But this one….I’m not consigning it to the trash bin yet, but that may be where it winds up. Aggravating. It would be wonderful with blueberries, though, and I’ll be trying that later on this summer when the blueberries come in.

The recipe for this is simple. It came from, I think, Taste of Home recipes online.

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 3/4 cup a/p flour
  • 1/2 tsp. each soda, baking powder, salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups diced strawberries

It called for 3/4 cup of toasted walnut pieces, but I didn’t think I wanted them, so I left them out.

You cream together the butter, eggs, vanilla, sour cream and sugar until it’s light and fluffy. Then you add the dry stuff that you’ve whisked together in another bowl, in about three stages, beating until it’s smooth. Then you fold in your strawberries, pour it into a greased loaf pan, and bake it for about 50 minutes at 350.

I do think the puree will work better. I’ll let you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

