A quite exceptional pizza

February 21, 2015

Roasted cherry tomatoes, onions, bacon, cheese. Yum.

Roasted cherry tomatoes, onions, bacon, cheese. Yum.

It’s been a foul week, weather-wise, although I’ve done a good bit of cooking, including this most exceptional pizza last night.

It was slumber party and binge TV watching last night at Chez Brockwell, as Child C and AGC2 came down to spend the weekend, being that their heater is out at home. So I asked what the thundering herd wanted for dinner, andi the answer was pizza.

Now, for some reason, when Children A and C want Mama’s homemade pizza, they want plain cheese pizza, with my homemade marinara sauce I canned last summer. And that’s OK. But that’s not what I wanted.

I still had a half-recipe of pizza dough in the fridge from the batch I’d made earlier in the week, so I determined to use that to make my pizza.

Got the kids all fixed up with pizza — marinara, parmigiano and mozzarella, which was fine as far as it went. Then I commenced to consider what I might put on mine.

I didn’t want sauce, but I had frozen roasted cherry tomatoes from last summer (and the next to last package of them, sadly, in the freezer). I could do that and some bacon, with some cheese, so I set about cutting up three strips of bacon and browning them.

As I finished that and started to pour the grease up in my bacon grease jar — some pieces of Old South cookery never leave you — a flash of what I can only describe as sheer brilliant inspirations ensued. “Self?” I thought, “You could caramelize an onion in a little of that bacon grease, and that ought to be primo on that pizza.

Self agreed that was a pretty good idea, so that happened. And while the onion was burbling away, self had another flash of inspiration. “How ’bout if you added some cloves of garlic confit to that?” And self agreed with that one, too, and we scooped three or four cloves out of the jar in the fridge and smooshed those up in the skillet and let it get all happy with the onion.

Two flashes of inspiration in one night is kinda scary. Also tiring.

I wanted an herbal scent, but the fresh herb market is pretty dismal these days, the only freeze dried herbs I had were chives, which did not sound like what I wanted. But what I did have was some basil infused olive oil. I drizzled that over the crust, sprinkled grated parmigiano, dotted the tomatoes around liberally, scattered the bacon in amongst them, and piled the now-golden onions and garlic in a thin layer over the top. Then I sprinkled the whole thing with grated mozzarella.

I believe this may have been the first Sweet Baby Jesus homemade pizza I ever made. There is, in fact, a fair amount of it left, so it will be lunch today, assuming I want lunch, because in a weak moment last night I asked them if they wanted waffles for breakfast. And my kids? Are not dumb.

So here in a few minutes, we’ll have waffles and bacon for breakfast, leftover pizza for lunch, and we’ll see what it winds up for dinner. It’s a rainy, nasty day, which means a good day to stay in and cook, so that’s exactly what I think I’ll do.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em come on over for some waffles.

 

Leave a Reply

