Bleah.

February 4, 2015

Mickey's always good for culinary adventures.

Mickey’s always good for culinary adventures.

I have been neither in the cooking nor the writing mode, except for making three dozen Mickey Mouse waffles for Amazing Grandchild 3’s second birthday party this past weekend. That was pretty cool.

Child B has become smarter, or more realistic, since the blowout second birthday party for AGC 1, almost two years ago now, when we made all sorts of themed food, cut cheese slices out with Mickey cookie cutters, and made Mickey-shaped sugar cookies to ice and decorate. This one, billed as “Breakfast with Mickey,” featured waffles and fruit, blueberry muffins, and cupcakes in take-home boxes as party favors.

Feed those kids some carbs!

And yes, all my grandchildren share a strong affection for the Mouse and his cohorts.

I did make it to the grocery this week, and picked up chicken, with an idea toward making something with chicken, and cheese, because cheese. I contemplated a pork tenderloin, but I was just bedamned if I was going to pay $4.99 a pound for organic tenderloin. Can’t do it. Besides, my sous vide circulator passed on to its reward, and I don’t know that I’m going to replace it, and pork loin and tenderloin are just not the same without it.

I guess I should check the temp of water in the crock pot on low. That might do in a pinch for sous vide, although I think it’d cook steak too done. But I can just grill the steak.

It’s gotten cold again, so I addressed that by making carbonnades a la flamande last night. It was good, as it consistently is. It’s good to have a dish that’s so predictable, so tasty, and always comes through to warm you up when it’s cold. Thank you, Green Flash Brewing Co., whose double stout makes the difference between good and great in this dish.

Had a working lunch Monday and had a Cobb salad with a local restaurant’s tomato viniagrette dressing, which prompted me to buy a pint of their tomato viniagrette dressing. It’s exactly what it says — a light viniagrette, with what appears to be fresh tomatoes pureed in. Must be Romas, given the time of year. Anyway, it was good, and I could see it as a dressing on several different sorts of salads, so I bought some. I have some shrimp in the freezer I’m contemplating cooking later this week, and I think a salad of shrimp, corn and avocado would be just freakin’ excellent with this dressing. Likewise, it strikes me it would make a different and interesting slaw dressing, so I bought a small head of cabbage with an eye toward trying that.

Other things on my February cook-it list are posole — I bought hominy at the grocery as well — because it’s just been a long doggoned time since I’ve made posole, and I love it. I want to make Cubanos at some point, because I have the ham and mojo pork in the freezer and just need to make the bread and buy some Swiss cheese. Lent begins mid-month, so there are King cakes to be made — I owe one to a friend for whom I didn’t get to bake one last year because there was ice all over the road and I couldn’t get out to get the colored sugar to put on it or the baby to put in it. So, King cakes. And I want to make rouladen one more time before it gets warm weather.

Child B made a good dinner while we were up there, which is noteworthy because Child B is not known for her cooking ability. She made chicken nachos, to wit:

“I just put black beans and RoTel in the crock pot and put chicken breasts on top, and added cumin and chili powder and let it cook until the chicken fell apart when I stirred it up.” We all dished it up atop tortilla chips, and then garnished it with cheese, cilantro, sour cream, green onions and salsa. Good stuff. The original recipe, she said, called for corn, “But I don’t put corn because that’s just empty calories,” says the marathon runner of 115 pounds and 2 percent body fat.

Pffth. Empty calories, indeed. They weren’t empty when you were eating fresh creamed corn as long as there was still corn in the skillet, kid.

I suspect I will make this at some point. Be assured I will add the corn.

So, that’s what it’s been like around Chez Brockwell during a quiet kitchen week. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em stir me up some inspiration, wouldja?

 

 

One Response to “Bleah.”

  1. cleavelin Says:

    Y’know, when the stars next align and I can come up for the weekend… If you’re in a sous vide mood, I can bring my Anova Precision Cooker up and you can decide if maybe that’s something you want to invest in when you’re flush with cash. 🙂 Just let me know when might be good for you and I’ll pack it with the rest of the stuff and head up.


Leave a Reply

