Smooth move

September 18, 2014

Breakfast makin's. Healthy stuff.

Breakfast makin’s. Healthy stuff.

I am in the midst of one of my fitful attempts to eat healthy, get myself in shape, and lose weight. You understand, I do this periodically, with varying amounts of success. But if I don’t lose a pound (which I have not, yet), I have at least learned an excellent addition to the breakfast lexicon.

I’m making smoothies.

This post is a sad attempt to make me feel better because I missed my gym for the second day in a row, including yoga class today, because I was canning tomato soup and cleaning out the refrigerator of stuff that was old enough to vote. Hell, it was old enough to draw Social Security and go on Medicare. My guilt at this is only slightly ameliorated (now there’s a nice word for you) because my yoga instructor, who is also my personal trainer, is obviously a direct descendant of the Marquis de Sade. But I digress.

When I bought the Big Damn Blender two or three years ago, one reason I did so was because it had a “smoothie” setting on it. At the time, Son-In-Law 1 was in the midst of his vegan phase, and was smoothie-ing everything that was of the plant kingdom that would fit in his blender. I can’t get into kale or spinach in a smoothie, but a fruit-flavored milkshake that’s good for you? I’m all about that.

The above is my go-to morning smoothie, to-wit:

  • A banana
  • About 4 ounces of pomegranate juice
  • About 4 ounces of mango juice
  • A scoop of protein powder
  • About two cups of ice cubes

I dump all that in the Big Damn Blender, hit the “smoothie” button, and walk away. It starts and stops about five times and then whirrs for 30 seconds or so, and then beeps maniacally for about 10 seconds to tell you it has successfully smoothied your breakfast.  I pour it up into a big Tervis tumbler, plunk in a straw, and I’m ready to roll. That may be over to the couch to read the papers, or into the car to go whereever that day is taking me. I’ve learned you don’t leave your mostly empty cup in the car overnight, because the remains of your smoothie will set up like glue in it, too.

One of these bad boys makes about a 32-ounce smoothie, which is probably enough for two people, but I drink the whole thing, being that there is only one of me, and I don’t much think Lucy would care for a smoothie. But you never know. Even at 32 ounces, it comes in at just 300 calories (much of that volume, remember, is water from the ice cubes), and with a package of my standard granola bars, it gives me a 500-calorie breakfast with 20 grams of protein, and that’s enough to get anybody moving.

Particularly if you follow it up with a sizeable mug of good strong Kona coffee.

Sometimes, if I’m not feeling particularly banana-ish, I sub that with a cup of peaches. A little while back, I bought a bunch of peaches at the Farmers’ Market and part of them I sliced, sprinkled with a little Splenda and lemon juice, and put in bags and in the freezer. You could sub most any kind of fruit, or fruit juice, I expect, though I wouldn’t want to go too heavily on the fruit juice because it leaves out all the fiber. I’d probably lean toward frozen fruits. Can’t wait until next spring to try it with fresh strawberries.

Anyway, if you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em show up around breakfast time, I’ll make you a smoothie and give you a granola bar. Then we’ll do yoga to a Netflix video, which is not nearly as sadistic as my in-person instructor.

 

Leave a Reply

