Um. Hello. Anybody home?

September 12, 2014

Summer food. Some of the best of what's been going on.

Summer food. Some of the best of what’s been going on.

It’s been…well, I’m not sure how long it’s been, but it’s been several months since I last visited with y’all.

Have you MISSED me?

If you haven’t…Please lie. I don’t deal well with rejection.

I’m not swearing that I’m back on a regular basis, but as my travel schedule and thus my cooking schedule seems to have calmed down a bit, I figure I will at least try. With a caveat — I do have a couple of trips coming up in the next 30 days, but as one of them is to Kansas City and one is to Aiken, SC, I will at least get to eat in some different places. I plan to go to Arthur Bryant’s and just see how that KC barbecue stacks up to Memphis (my money’s on Memphis), and Aiken, well, who knows?

Been a decent summer, food-wise. The fresh produce has been plentiful; I’m a regular Saturday visitor to the Farmers’ Market, and there’s also a fresh produce place on my way home from half the places I go regularly that I can use to supplement during the week. We’ve not suffered from the lack of fresh okra , corn, tomatoes, purple hulled peas, eggplant, squash, and the like. You’ve seen all those, so I won’t belabor the point.

I even went (along with Child A) to the market’s Farm to Table dinner, which was quite excellent. Smoked brisket that was fork-tender, from the same farmers from whom I get beef. I must say that their brisket kicked hell out of mine. With both hands tied behind it. Veggies and appetizers were quite admirable.  Desserts were killer. And I learned about the sourdough rolls.

Twelve in an aluminum roasting pan (10 x 13, I think) at the market for 10 bucks. Worth it. These are the only rolls I’ve ever had that I might, possibly, pick over Miss Mary Lloyd’s rolls, which I’ve extolled here before. Particularly if my time and effort is a factor.

Beyond that and some exploration of the local restaurant scene — Sue’s Kitchen and Gina’s Place get thumbs up from me, as do Ron’s Catfish, Tandoori and Tropical Smoothie, and Presley’s for breakfast — I’ve had a few other adventures. First and foremost is, I’ve determined I need to get back in shape and lose weight, so I’m in the gym five days a week, and working on eating healthier. So I’m learning to make smoothies. So far, I’m staying in fairly safe territory with fruit, fruit juices and protein powder; add two cups of ice cubes, and maybe a banana, and it makes an excellent breakfast. My first attempt, I tried to do it manually with the blender control, and the ice crystals were too big. I learned you can just hit the smoothie button, and it will process in stops and starts until it’s Just Right. Who knew?

I’ve adapted my pimiento cheese recipe, which I inherited from Margaret Moore, God rest her soul, one of the two coolest newspaperwomen I ever had the pleasure to know. I’ve added a splash of cider vinegar to the standard sharp cheddar/Velveeta/pimientos/mayo/cayenne/sugar/seasoned salt recipe, mimicking the Capital Hotel’s recipe. Pretty excellent. I also had a memorable PC sandwich at Bistro on the Ridge here in JB — it was PC, bacon and fried green tomatoes. Don’t know that I’d’a thought of that, and don’t know that I’ll take the trouble to do it, but it was pretty good. I’m leaning toward bacon, tomato  of the ripe variety, and PC.

And I’ve been canning, which will be the subject of a future post. Channeling my Mama. Comes the apocalypse, we’ll eat, over here. At least until the propane for the grill runs out (presuming, post-Apocalypse, we don’t have electricity).

So. I’ll collect photos made over the past few months (I WAS thinkin’ of you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em, truly I was!) and see if I can get this thing back on track. Be patient. And let me know if you still love me! (Needy much?)

4 Responses to “Um. Hello. Anybody home?”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Hi Kay! I’ve surely missed you. Your post is timely…we’ve been discussing pimento cheese at length over on EG 🙂 Glad your schedule is slowing down a bit.

  2. Sharon Says:

    I think you should reward your patient, loyal followers by sending food.

  3. Kath the Cook Says:

    Good to see you back, hope yall stick around.

    I’m making roasted eggplant lasagna with no noodles (the eggplant filling in) and real bolognese sauce I cooked up yesterday, mozzarella and parm. we’ll see how it turns out as I have invented it.

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Ooooh. That sounds good. I’ve contemplated doing that very thing. Will be interested to see how it goes.


Leave a Reply

