Interim….

February 6, 2014

I got nothin’ today, being that I was traveling yesterday, lunch was at a meeting, and dinner was liquid when I got home at 8 p.m. It is colder than the proverbial wedge, and I’m contemplating what warm thing I can cook tonight. I have laid out pork chops, but that’s as far as I’ve thought.

I do have a handy household tip for you. The other day, I was braising a pork roast, and thanks to my irascible oven, I had the temp a bit too high, and thus cooked all the liquid out of it. The result was a scorched, sticky mess in my Dutch oven, which is a cast-iron one with an enameled interior.

I soaked and I chipped and I scrubbed. Nada. I even tried boiling soda and water until it boiled dry, which worked in a stainless pan. No joy. So I betook myself to the interwebs in search of advice.

Several remedies were offered, but I went for the boil-a-packet-of-dishwasher detergent in it. You put in a quart or so of water, add the packet (Sam’s generic, in my case), bring it to a boil, turn it down and let it simmer a while.

And glory be, it worked! Not only did it get off the burnt stuff, but it also erased three or four years’ worth of cooking stains on the white enamel.

Not to be outdone, the next day I inadvertently turned a unit to high instead of off, and scorched the bottom of a pan of cheese grits. Careful spooning salvaged plenty of grits for breakfast, and, having emptied my box of soda in an attempt to clean up the Dutch oven the day before, I threw a dishwasher packet into this one and set it to boil. Once again, worked like a charm.

Helpful household hint brought to you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em free of charge, while I’m trying to figure out what to cook tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

