Thinking Thanksgiving

November 11, 2013

As I will, for the first time in, well, a long time, have two of my children, one grandchild and a future son-in-law, along with whatever other strays show up, at my table on Thanksgiving, I guess it behooves me to begin to do a little thinking about Turkey Day prep and plans.

Since there are a fair number, I suspect I’m well-advised to go the whole turkey route. Big pan of dressing, natch. Ditto sweet potatoes. Cranberry salad, and Miss Mary Lloyd’s rolls; those both go without saying. Mashed potatoes and mac and cheese to satisfy the carb lovers in the crowd. Corn pudding, the kids’ newest BFF in the food world. Little point in doing any green things, as no one wants to eat them. Maybe I’ll put little shot glasses with Flintstones vitamins at each place, or something.

Fortunately, working from home gives me optimal flexibility to do prep work in advance, and the extra fridge is just a lovely thing. No worries about ptomaine from the turkey thawing on the counter (not that I ever sweated that a great deal anyway).

I’d like to do something new this year, but I don’t know what. And I have to decide on dessert. There will be at least two lemon ice box pies, because there would be wholesale revolt if there were not. There will likely be a pumpkin pie of some description. Maybe a pecan pie? Been so long since I’ve made a pecan pie I’m not sure I recall how. I’d love to make a coconut cake, but I think I’m still the only one who eats them.

I love Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday. I’ll be exhausted and my house will be a wreck when everyone’s gone, but it’ll be worth it.

And I’m thankful for that.

I’m also thankful for you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em, who have been with me over the years since I started this sucker almost five years ago. I would have never thought I’d stick with it, nor that it would encourage me to learn so much.

So. Any suggestions for the great big family Thanksgiving feast? If so, send ’em on!

 

Leave a Reply

